6 Description of Medical Training Program

The Faculty of Medicine offers a four-year undergraduate medical program, comprising a minimum of 189 credit hours, leading to the degree of Doctor of Medicine (M.D.).

The Diversity Statement for the Faculty of Medicine is available on the Faculty website.

The program consists of four phases; Phases 1-3 explore themes integrating physician competencies and clinical skills with basic and clinical sciences as they relate to common clinical encounters and patient symptoms and Phase 4 involves integration into practice. The first three Phases employ a variety of teaching and learning experiences, including self-directed learning, to learn about all aspects of health (physical, mental, social, and psychological), disruptions in health that can lead to frank disease, and all aspects of science, community health, ethics, and clinical skills related to identifying and describing disease and its diagnosis. During Phase 4, students take courses that will allow them to experience major disciplines in hospital and community settings throughout affiliated teaching sites in Newfoundland and Labrador and community and hospital settings in New Brunswick and other jurisdictions. They participate as members of the health care team, gaining the knowledge and experience necessary to assume the responsibilities associated with patient care.

Medical students are required to participate fully in medical education experiences which occur at various times and communities outside of the St. John’s metropolitan area throughout the undergraduate medical education program.

Students in good academic standing are qualified to write Part I of the licensing examinations set by the Medical Council of Canada (MCC) at the appropriate time.

The information on this site has been extracted from the Official 2023-2024 University Calendar. While every reasonable effort has been made to duplicate the information contained in the official University Calendar, if there are differences, the official Memorial University of Newfoundland Calendar will be considered the final and accurate authority.

Copyright © 2024 Memorial University of Newfoundland.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.