44 Regulations Governing the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy

In this and following regulations and notes, "Head" and "Department" shall be understood to mean "Dean or Director" and "Faculty or School" respectively, applying the regulations to a Faculty or School in which there are no Departmental divisions.

Students should consult the General Information and Regulations Governing All Graduate Students for information concerning the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy. For information concerning the number of courses required for specific programs, students should consult the following listing for the appropriate Department.

The degree of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) is offered in selected areas in Anthropology, Archaeology, Atomic and Molecular Physics, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Cognitive and Behavioural Ecology, Computer Science, Condensed Matter Physics, Earth Sciences (Geology), Earth Sciences (Geophysics), Education, Engineering, English, Environmental Science, Ethnomusicology, Experimental Psychology, Folklore, Food Science, Geography, History, Interdisciplinary, Linguistics, Management, Marine Biology, Mathematics, Medicine, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physical Oceanography, Social Work, Sociology, Statistics, and Theoretical Physics.

The information on this site has been extracted from the Official 2023-2024 University Calendar. While every reasonable effort has been made to duplicate the information contained in the official University Calendar, if there are differences, the official Memorial University of Newfoundland Calendar will be considered the final and accurate authority.

Copyright © 2024 Memorial University of Newfoundland.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.