3.1 The Marine Institute Students' Union (MISU)

The Marine Institute Students' Union (MISU) was incorporated in 1991. It is committed to the provision of services to students as well as representing the student body at the national, provincial and institute levels in matters affecting the quality of student life.

The MISU is a prominent member of the Canadian Federation of Students (CFS). The CFS provides a voice for students at over 70 universities, colleges, and technical institutes across Canada including more than 32,000 students in Newfoundland and Labrador. The national body has a strong presence in Ottawa and ensures students' opinions are known on Parliament Hill. Services provided by CFS include the National Student Health Network, student saver cards, Student Work Abroad Program (SWAP), and International Student Identity Cards. The CFS Newfoundland and Labrador (CFS-NL) ensures students' opinions are known in the Provincial House of Assembly. The MISU takes part in the CFS bi-annual conferences to discuss and form policies on behalf of students.

Within the Institute, the MISU has representation on a number of committees, including the Marine Institute Industry Advisory committee and the Academic Council, where the Union members ensure that student well-being is at the forefront in all policies affecting student life. The MISU administers the student health plan. Many social and recreational activities are planned and sponsored by the MISU including Winter Carnival held during the last week of January. Profits from the social activities are returned to the students in the form of scholarships. The MISU manages and maintains the student lounge -The Mariner's Lounge.

The information on this site has been extracted from the Official 2023-2024 University Calendar. While every reasonable effort has been made to duplicate the information contained in the official University Calendar, if there are differences, the official Memorial University of Newfoundland Calendar will be considered the final and accurate authority.

Copyright © 2024 Memorial University of Newfoundland.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.