6.12 Bachelor of Music Conjoint with Bachelor of Music Education

This program is currently under review and may not be available for intake at this time. For further information contact the Office of Academic Programs, Faculty of Education.

To be considered for the award of the degree of Bachelor of Music and Bachelor of Music Education, a student shall comply with the School's regulations and successfully complete a minimum of 159 credit hours, including 55 credit hours in the Core Program. The remaining 104 credit hours will be chosen as follows:

  1. Music 340A/B, 440A/B;

  2. Music 3300 and 3301;

  3. Eight credit hours chosen from: Music 3221, 3222, 3231, 3232, 3233, 3241, 3242, 3261, 3281, 3282;

  4. Music 3401 or 3411, 3402 or 3412;

  5. Twelve additional credit hours chosen from Music courses beyond the 1000 level including:

    1. A maximum of 4 credit hours from Music 2611-2614, 2619, 2620, and 263A/B, in addition to those listed under the Core Program; and

    2. A maximum of 5 credit hours from Music 2615, 2616, 2617, 265A/B, 3500, the former 3510, 3511-3518, and 3611-3613, in addition to those listed under the Core Program;

  6. Forty-five credit hours as prescribed by the Faculty of Education under the Regulations for the Conjoint Degrees of Bachelor of Music and Bachelor of Music Education; and

  7. Twenty-four credit hours chosen from disciplines other than Music and Music Education, including at least 6 credit hours from courses in English, designated Critical Reading and Writing (CRW) courses, and/or former Research/Writing (R/W) courses. Conjoint degrees students are strongly encouraged to take at least 18 credit hours in a second teachable subject.

The information on this site has been extracted from the Official 2023-2024 University Calendar. While every reasonable effort has been made to duplicate the information contained in the official University Calendar, if there are differences, the official Memorial University of Newfoundland Calendar will be considered the final and accurate authority.

Copyright © 2024 Memorial University of Newfoundland.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.