8 Postgraduate Medical Training

Postgraduate medical training is offered in residency programs leading to certification by either the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC). These are full-time training programs comprised of hands-on practical training complemented by formal teaching and academic study. Residency programs are completed in a structured learning environment consisting of hospital and community based teaching units, supervised by faculty. Residents are required to participate fully in all medical education experiences that occur at various times and communities throughout their respective residency program.

The Postgraduate Medical Education (PGME) Committee oversees all aspects of the planning of residency programs and reports to the Dean of Medicine through the Associate Dean, PGME. The structure of residency programs is based on Canadian Excellence in Residency Accreditation (CanERA), which includes accreditation standards, processes and support tools. Residency programs are accredited through the Canadian Residency Accreditation Consortium (CanRAC), comprising the College of Family Physicians of Canada, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and the Collège des médecins du Québec.

The information on this site has been extracted from the Official 2023-2024 University Calendar. While every reasonable effort has been made to duplicate the information contained in the official University Calendar, if there are differences, the official Memorial University of Newfoundland Calendar will be considered the final and accurate authority.

Copyright © 2024 Memorial University of Newfoundland.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.