8.13 Joint Honours in Mathematics and Physics (B.Sc.)

The Joint Honours Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics and Physics offers a greater concentration in each discipline and also requires a higher level of academic achievement than is required for the completion of a general degree. The Joint Honours degree in Mathematics and Physics at Grenfell Campus is a 120 credit hour program normally requiring a minimum of four years for completion (see Honours Degrees).

8.13.1 Course Requirements for Joint Honours in Mathematics and Physics (B.Sc.)

Students must meet the General Regulations for the Grenfell Campus Bachelor of Science degree. Students must also successfully complete:

  1. Mathematics 1000, 1001, 2000, 2050, 2051, 2130, 2260, 2320, 3000, 3132, 3202, 3320.

  2. Physics 1050, 1051, 2053, 2056, 2400, 2820, 3060, 3061, 3220, 3230, 3250, 3400, 3650, 3820, 4100, 4880.

  3. Twelve additional credit hours in Mathematics at the 3000 level or higher, of which at least six credit hours must be at the 4000 level or higher.

  4. Three credit hours in a computer programming course. Computer Science 1001 is recommended.

  5. A two-semester honours project, either Mathematics 495A/B or Physics 495A/B.

In order to be considered for graduation with an Honours degree, the candidate must satisfy the regulations regarding Academic Standing as specified under Honours Degrees.

8.13.2 Honours Thesis for Joint Honours in Mathematics and Physics (B.Sc.)

The Honours project sequence (Mathematics 495A/B or Physics 495A/B involves the production of an Honours thesis. This thesis will be evaluated by the thesis supervisor and an additional faculty member selected by mutual consent of the candidate and the supervisor.

The information on this site has been extracted from the Official 2023-2024 University Calendar. While every reasonable effort has been made to duplicate the information contained in the official University Calendar, if there are differences, the official Memorial University of Newfoundland Calendar will be considered the final and accurate authority.

Copyright © 2024 Memorial University of Newfoundland.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.