Dr. Kevin Pope honoured with national award

Aug 9th, 2016

By Jackey Locke

From left are Dr. Kamran Behdinan, past president of CSME and chair of CSME Honors and Awards Committee; Dr. Ali Dolotabadi, current president of CSME; and Dr. Pope at CSME's 2016 International Congress in Kelowna, B.C. Photo credit: Yuri Muzychka
Dr. Kevin Pope honoured with national award

The Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME) has awarded Dr. Kevin Pope the CSME I.W. Smith Award for his outstanding achievement in creative mechanical engineering.

“I’m grateful to receive this award and happy to see that my work is being positively recognized by CSME,” said Dr. Pope. “I’m also very thankful for the guidance and support I’ve received from supervisors and colleagues throughout my career.”

Dr. Pope has been an assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Memorial since 2013. He obtained a B.Eng. in energy systems engineering; a MASc. in mechanical engineering, which focused on the transient behaviour of wind turbines; and a PhD in mechanical engineering, which focused on physiochemical characterization, multiphase flow and heat transfer for thermochemical energy conversion and storage (Clean Energy Research Laboratory), all from the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT). Before joining Memorial, he investigated sustainable energy systems for large urban areas by examining the effects of different socioeconomic development pathways on resource demands and infrastructure needs.

In addition to being a member of CSME, Dr. Pope is a member of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), and serves on its Thermophysics Technical Committee and Publicity Subcommittee.

Dr. Greg Naterer, dean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, has known Dr. Pope his entire professional career. He was his PhD thesis supervisor and now they collaborate on research together at Memorial University.

“Dr. Pope has made outstanding contributions to mechanical engineering since completing his PhD degree in 2012, especially in the areas of renewable energy and multiphase flows,” said Dr. Naterer. “Throughout his career, he has shown creative technical abilities as an engineer in creatively overcoming key challenges in these fields. Dr. Pope is very deserving of this national award.”

The I. W. Smith Award was established in 1977 to honour Professor I. W. Smith, who devoted a lifetime to teaching mechanical engineering at the University of Toronto. It is awarded annually for outstanding achievement in creative mechanical engineering within 10 years of undergraduate graduation.



Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000