Department Contact Information

Listed below are the contacts for each of the Departments in the Humanities and Social Sciences faculty. Can't find what you're looking for? See also the listing for Certificate and Diploma Coordinators, or contact the Faculty office: hss@mun.ca (709-864-8254)

Department Heads/Secretary E-Mail Telephone Room #
    anthropology@mun.ca   QC4027
Anthropology Dr. Lincoln Addison, Interim Head laddison@mun.ca 7818 QC4021
  Tina Scott tscott@mun.ca 7655 QC4027
         
Archaeology Dr. Vaughan Grimes, Head vgrimes@mun.ca 8861 QC2008
  Glenda Hiscock ghiscock@mun.ca 3210 QC2001
  Fran Banfield fbanfield@mun.ca 8869 QC2002
         
    classicsgrad@mun.ca   AA2056
Classics Dr. Luke Roman, Head romanl@mun.ca 8910 AA 2055
  Cathy Kieley ckieley@mun.ca 8593 AA2056
Commincation Studies See English      
Criminology See Sociology      
    economics@mun.ca   AA3077
Economics Dr. Wade Locke, Head wlocke@mun.ca 8104 AA3080
        AA3077
  Katie Flood katie.anne.flood@mun.ca 8248 AA3077
         
    english@mun.ca   AA3026
English Dr. Jennifer Lokash, Head jlokash@mun.ca 8286 AA3026
  Lisa Meaney lmmeaney@mun.ca 8277 AA3026
  Debbie Dunn dunn@mun.ca 8297 AA3026A
         
    folklore@mun.ca   ED4046
Folklore Dr. Holly Everett, Head hjeverett@mun.ca 8402 ED4045
  Margie Chafe mchafe@mun.ca 8402 ED4046
  Pauline Cox: Folklore Archieve pcox@mun.ca 8401 ED4038
         
    gndr@mun.ca   SN2028
Gender Studies Dr. Jennifer Dyer, Head jdyer@mun.ca 3322 SN4084
  Audrey O'Neill & Juanita Lawerence gndr@mun.ca 3322 SN4084
         
    geog@mun.ca   SN2012A
Geography Dr. Arn Keeling, Head akeeling@mun.ca 8990 SN 1041
  Valerie James vjames@mun.ca 7417 SN2012
  Lynn Murphy lmurphy13@mun.ca 7418 SN2009
        A4019
History Dr. Stephan Curtis, Head stephanc@mun.ca 8420 AA4019
  Ann Marie Gushue agushue@mun.ca 2164 AA4019A
  Renee Clowe rclowe@mun.ca 8420 AA4019
         
Law and Society see Political Science      
    linguist@mun.ca   SN3050B
Linguistics Dr. Carrie Dyck, Head cdyck@mun.ca 8905 SN3049
  Suzanne Browne sbrowne@mun.ca 8134 SN3050
         
         
Medieval Studies see Philosophy      
    languages@mun.ca   SN4023
MLLC Dr. Philippe Basabose, Head basabose@mun.ca 7636 SN4023
  Heather O'Brien hobrien@mun.ca 8571 SN4026
  Melanie Sears msears@mun.ca 7636 SN4023
  Sheri-Lynn Terry slterry@mun.ca 8831 SN4023
        AA3070
Philosophy Dr. Arthur Sullivan, Head arthurs@mun.ca 8333 AA3105
  Jill Robinson jillr@mun.ca 8336 AA3070
         
Political Science Dr. Alex Marland, Head poliscihead@mun.ca 8178 SN 2045
  Audrey O'Neill aoneill@mun.ca 8179 SN2044
  Juanita Lawrence jlawrenc@mun.ca 3566 SN2044
         
Religious Studies Dr. Barry Stephenson bstephenson@mun.ca
8113 AA5031
  Annette Sullivan acarter@mun.ca 8166 AA5007
         
    sociology@mun.ca   AA4054
Sociology Dr. Liam Swiss, Head lswiss@mun.ca 4467 AA4053
  Marina Thistle marinat@mun.ca 7457 AA4054
  Rudy Bishop rubyb@mun.ca 7443 AA4054
  Maureen Battcock mbattcock@mun.ca 8158 AA4082