Deans Awards


Teaching Excellence, tenuredVicki Hallett
Teaching Excellence, non-tenuredValérie Vézina
Distinguished ScholarshipLisa Rankin
Graduate SupervisionRodolphe Devillers
Exceptional Service, staffNava Bobby
Exceptional Service, tenure & tenure trackDonna Walsh
Research PartnerChief Liz LaSaga, Flat Bay Band


Teaching Excellence, tenuredMichael Wernerheim
Teaching Excellence, non-tenureJulie Temple Newhook
Distinguished ScholarshipScott Matthews
Retiree RecognitionEvan Simpson
Exceptional ServiceHelen Knapman
Graduate SupervisionTony Fang
Peter Cashin AwardJeff Webb
Community Research EngagementTrinity Bay North (nominated by Nicholas Lymer)

2014 - 2015

Exceptional Service AwardKelley Bromley - Brits
Distinguished ScholarshipNancy Pedri
Graduate SupervisionLarry Mathews
Retiree RecognitionPeter Ayres
Peter Cashin PrizeJohn Nick Jeddore

2013 - 2014

Graduate SupervisionSharon Roseman
Teaching ExcellenceSonja Boon
Distinguished ScholarshipPeter Gratton
Exceptional Service to the FacultyJenny Higgins
William J. Kirwin Retiree RecognitionSandra Clarke

2012 - 2013

Teaching Excellence (Tenure Track)Reade Davis
William J. Kirwin Retiree RecognitionJohn Hewson
Exceptional Service to the FacultyVince Walsh
Distinguished ScholarshipJulie Brittain

2011 - 2012

Teaching Excellence (Non Tenure Track)Anne Morris
Distinguished ScholarshipDon Nichol
Graduate SupervisionLisa Rankin
Exceptional Service to the FacultyJanet Harron

2010 - 2011

Outstanding Academic ServiceDr. Chris Youé
Teaching ExcellenceDr. Linda Cullum
Teaching Excellence (Non Tenure Track)Sébastien Després
Distinguished ScholarshipSean McGrath
Graduate SupervisionAlistair Bath

2009 - 2010

Exceptional Service to the FacultyJanet Oliver
Teaching ExcellenceValerie Burton
Distinguished ScholarshipJean Snook
Teaching Excellence (Non Tenure Track)Jennifer Dyer

2008 - 2009

Exceptional Service to the FacultyMs. Patricia Churchill Ms. Sharon Cochrane joint with Ms. Cynthia Turpin
Outstanding Academic ServiceDr. Christopher Sharpe

2007 - 2008

Exceptional Service to the FacultyMs. Joan Butler
Teaching ExcellenceProf. Karyn Butler
Distinguished ScholarshipDr. Ronald Rompkey
Teaching Excellence (Non Tenure Track)Dr. Seamus O’Neill

2006 - 2007

Exceptional Service to the FacultyMs. Harriett Taylor
Outstanding Academic ServiceDr. Jim Black
Excellence in TeachingDr. Anne Thareau
Distinguished ScholarshipDr. Vit Bubenik

2005 - 2006

Exceptional Service to the FacultyMs. Colleen Porter
Outstanding Academic ServiceDr. Norm Catto
Distinguished ScholarshipDr. Jim Feehan

2004 - 2005

Exceptional Service to the FacultyMr. Allan Farrell
Excellence in TeachingMs. Susanne Ottenheimer

2003 - 2004

Exceptional Service to the FacultyMs. Amanda Browne Ms. Fran Warren
Excellence in TeachingProf. Anthony Chadwick

2002 - 2003

Exceptional Service to the FacultyMs. Ruby Bishop Ms. Mary Kaye MacFarlane
Outstanding Academic ServiceProf. Donna Walsh
Excellence in TeachingDr. Linda Vecchi
Distinguished ScholarshipDr. Graham Shorrocks


Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000