White Coat Ceremony


Each year, first-year pharmacy students, accompanied by their family members, fellow students, faculty and staff, members of the pharmacy community and government participate in the School of Pharmacy’s White Coat Ceremony.

The purpose of the ceremony is to formally welcome pharmacy students to the School and indoctrinate them into the pursuit of the pharmacy profession. During the ceremony, we will review the traditions and goals of the profession, and the significance of the pharmacy profession in providing for a healthy society.

2016 marked the 10th anniversary of the White Coat Ceremony; 2022 will mark the 16th anniversary.

The event culminates each year with the recitation of the Newfoundland and Labrador Pharmacy Board (NLPB)'s Code of Ethics, and the School of Pharmacy's Pledge of Professionalism

Honorary White Coat

The presentation of donning an honorary white coat began in 2016 as part of the 10th anniversary celebration of the White Coat Ceremony.

The pharmacy profession has evolved exponentially in recent years. But pharmacy would not be where it is today without history - the foundation of the present and future. Recipients of the Honorary White Coat have been practicing for decades and exhibit the qualities and dedication to the profession that we hope our students will display. Each year, a pharmacist presents the honour to the new recipient.

Leaders. Mentors. Inspirations. 

Honorary White Coat recipients have significantly advanced the profession, the health care system, and improved patients' and the population's quality of life.

They are the trailblazers.

2016 recipient - Dwight Ball
2017 recipient - Don Rowe
2018 recipient - David Collins
2019 recipient - Arlene Crane
2020 recipient - Dr. Linda Hensman
022 recipient  - Christina Tulk



School of Pharmacy

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000