Commitment to excellence: Nominations due by June 1 for Marilyn Harvey Award

May 3rd, 2018

By Jeff Green

Dr. Neil Bose and Dr. Kathy Hodgkinson. Photo by Rich Blenkinsopp
Commitment to excellence: Nominations due by June 1 for Marilyn Harvey Award

Nominations are now being accepted for an institutional award honouring leadership in the area of research ethics.

The Marilyn Harvey Award to Recognize the Importance of Research Ethics is awarded to a student, staff or faculty member who has distinguished themselves by their actions and contributions to scholarly research and embodies Memorial’s commitment to excellence in research ethics.

Nominations are due by June 1.

The award is named in honour of Marilyn Harvey, BN, a research nurse who brought forward her concerns regarding research ethics to senior administrators at the university.

Previous recipients

The 2017 recipient is Dr. Kathleen Hodgkinson, associate professor and program coordinator of clinical epidemiology/genetics in the Faculty of Medicine. Her research focuses on genetics and inherited causes of sudden cardiac death, in particular arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy (ARVC).

Other recipients of the award include Dr. Fern Brunger, professor of health ethics, Faculty of Medicine; and Dr. Larry Felt, a retired faculty member, Department of Sociology, who passed away in 2016.

More details

More information about the award, including its terms of reference, is available online.

Nominations must be submitted by 4 p.m. on June 1 to the Office of the Vice-President (Research), room AA-2021.

For more information, contact Ellen Steinhauer at  or 864-2651, or Tina Winsor at or 864-3104.



230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000