Composition and Theory

Joe Argentino, theory
Florian Hoefner, jazz theory, elements of music, improvisation
Clark Ross, composition
Andrew Staniland, composition, electronic music, arranging


Jakub Martinec, choral
Vernon Regehr, instrumental
Bill Brennan, instrumental


Bill Brennan, wind ensemble, gamelan ensemble
Nathan Cook, chamber music
Florian Hoefner, jazz ensemble
Jakub Martinec, festival and chamber choirs
Rob Power, percussion ensemble
Vernon Regehr, chamber orchestra
Caroline Schiller, opera workshop

Music Education

David Buley


Harris Berger, Director - MMaP, ethnomusicology
Holly Everett
, ethnomusicology, folklore
Meghan Forsyth, ethnomusicology
Jane Gosine, musicology
Ian Sutherland, musicology
Kati Szego, ethnomusicology
Cory Thorne, ethnomusicology, folklore


Bill Brennan, percussion
Karen Bulmer, trombone, euphonium, and tuba
Christine Carter, clarinet and saxophone
Michelle Cheramy, flute 
Annie Corrigan, oboe
Nancy Dahn, violin and viola
Tiago Delgado, clarinet and saxophone
Grant Etchegary, bassoon
Jennifer Johnson, violin and body mapping
Heather Kao, violin
Alan Klaus, trumpet and horn
Jane Leibel, voice
Shelley Neville, voice
Mary O'Keeffe, harpsichord
Gregory Oh, piano
Rob Power, percussion
Sylvie Proulx, guitar
Kate Read, viola
Vernon Regehr, cello and double bass
Caroline Schiller, voice
Hillary Simms, trombone, euphonium, and tuba
Timothy Steeves, piano

Traditional Music

Jim Payne, accordion, NL folksinging 
Christina Smith, fiddle

Professor Emeritus

Beverley Diamond, ethnomusicology
Tom Gordon, musicology
Maureen Volk, piano
Paul Rice, musicology

Adjunct Professors

Leon Chisholm, technology and digital organology
Annie Corrigan, oboe
Anna Kearney Guigne, traditional music
Jeffrey van den Scott, musicologies
Mark David Turner, media and performance studies
Kristin Harris Walsh, ethnomusicology


School of Music

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000