Chemistry 1050

Fall 2021

1050 General Chemistry I
builds on basic chemistry concepts from high school. Topics include gases; thermochemistry; atomic structure; periodic properties; chemical bonding including valence bond theory; hybridization and introduction to molecular orbital theory; properties of liquids and solids.

Course Instructor(s):
Gary Hancock (9:00 a.m. MTWF) - ghancock@mun.ca  Office: CSF 2250
Dr. Barry Power (10:00 a.m. MWRF)  - b.power@mun.ca   Office: CSF 2242  Phone: 864-8083
Dr. Travis Fridgen (12:00 noon MWF) and (11:00 a.m. R) - tfridgen@mun.ca Office: CSF 3224
Dr. Karl Jobst (2:00 p.m. MWRF) - kjobst@mun.ca Office: CSF 3337 Phone: 864-8744
Tiber Reardon (5:00 p.m. MTWR) - treardon@mun.ca Office: CSF 2203 Phone: 864-8099 

Lab  Instructors: 

Susan Hayward - susan.hayward@mun.ca  Phone: 864-8909
Renee Halliday - rrandel@mun.ca   Phone: 864-8909
Samantha Payne - f34smb@mun.ca  Phone: 864-8909
Tiber Reardon - treardon@mun.ca Phone: 864-8099
Angham Saeed - as1474@mun.ca Phone: 864-8909
Steven Smith  - steven.smith@mun.ca - Phone: 864-8743

Required Text for Fall 2021

Text: Chemistry: “A Molecular Approach” by Nivaldo J. Tro, Travis D. Fridgen, Lawton E. Shaw, 3rd Canadian Edition.

Chemistry 1050 Curriculum (2021-2022)
First Year Information Sheet Fall 2021
First Year Schedule (Lab Instructors) Fall 2021
First Year Lab Schedule Fall 2021

CHEMISTRY HELP CENTRE
The Chemistry Help Center (C2010) is on the second level of the Chemistry/Physics Building. The staff provide one-on-one assistance with labs as well as theory and problems related to your chemistry course. Study desks are provided; however, due to space limitations, we must restrict their use to the study of Chemistry. DROP BY AND LOOK AROUND.

Chemistry 1050 Final Exams:
 

Fall 2019
Fall 2018
Fall 2017
Fall 2016
Fall 2015
Fall 2014
Fall 2013

Prerequisites:
Students should have a strong background in pre-university chemistry, e.g. at least 65% or better in Chem 3202.

LABORATORY SAFETY TRAINING  Science 1807 and Science 1808

Integrity 1000

Academic Misconduct:

Cheating is not permitted. The act of cheating includes, but is not limited to, the copying of lab materials and assignments from previous or current years, or using unreferenced information in a lab write up, paper, or presentation. University regulations pertaining to cheating are found in the university calendar in section 6.12 ( https://www.mun.ca/regoff/calendar/sectionNo=REGS-0748).

Final Exam Equation Sheet

You will be given a sheet of some equations on the final exam.

Course Grading Scheme:

See individual professor

Other information
50% is the minimum mark for a passing grade. However, students must also obtain both a minimum of 40% on the final exam and 50% in the laboratory portion of the course. If both requirements are not met, then regardless of term performance, a student will not receive a passing grade. If the calculated grade would be greater than 50%, a student will instead receive a grade of "FAL". There are NO supplementary exams for Chemistry courses.

A scientific calculator is essential in laboratories, class tests, and examinations. Programmable calculators and calculators with “built in” libraries which cannot be cleared are NOT permitted in class tests and final exams. If you are unsure as to whether or not a particular calculator is permissible, check with your instructor.

Test Dates:
See individual professor

Policy on Missed Tests:

The points for any test not written increases the value of the final exam by the appropriate percentage providing a suitable excuse is provided for missing it (medical note, etc.). There will be no make-up tests.