Job Lecture


A bequest from the Job family of St. John's has enabled the department to finance a lecture series. Each Job Lecturer is a distinguished chemist of international repute who is invited to join the department for one to two weeks. In addition to the formal lectures this gives faculty and students the opportunity to meet intellectually and socially with some of the greatest chemists of our day.

Previous Job Lecturers

2018      Fiona C. Meldrum
2015   Philip Bartlett
2013   Helmut Schwarz
2011   John C. Vederas
2009   Robert Crabtree
2008   R. Graham Cooks
2007   Thomas J. Meyer
2005   David N. Reinhoudt
2000   K.W. Michael Siu
1999   Robert Wood
1998   Edward Piers
1997   Judith A.K. Howard
1995   Alfred Sykes
1993   W. John Albery
1992   Bertram Fraser-Reid
1991   Henri Brunner
1989   Fred McLafferty
1988   Grenfell Patey
1987   Barry Trost
1986   Mark Wrighton
1984   Kenneth Pitzer
1983   William Ayer
1982   Robert J.P. Williams
1981   Henry Bent
1980   Pierre Deslongchamps
1979   William Lipscomb
1978   Stanley Mason
1976   Zdenek Valenta
1975   John Murrell
1972   Dietmar Seyferth