Faculty of Science

If you are a high school student considering future studies, the Faculty of Science is the scientific training ground for all undergraduate and graduate students at Memorial University. We are committed to effective teaching, as exhibited through the delivery of quality educational programs for science students. The Faculty of Science is also dedicated to the pursuit of high quality research, fostering economic development through cooperative research and technology transfer with the private sector.

Our 17,500 alumni are seasoned scientific explorers and problem solvers in demand by science-based industries throughout the country.

The Faculty of Science encompasses nine academic departments:



Liam Gregory has been named Memorial’s latest Rothermere Fellow.

It is one of the university’s most lucrative and prestigious awards.

Mr. Gregory, who is originally from St. John’s, graduated with a B.Sc.(Hons.), majoring in biochemistry, from Memorial in 2019. He completed a master’s degree at the University of British Columbia in 2021 and is currently enrolled in a PhD program at the University of Cambridge.

Dr. Xianta Jiang, an assistant professor of computer science in the Faculty of Science at Memorial, was recently awarded $237,750 by the Government of Canada’s New Frontiers in Research Fund (NFRF).

The funding is to create an artificial intelligence interface for controlling prosthetic hands, enabling amputees to operate an artificial limb as easily as their intact hand without requiring surgery.

Science Rendezvous is the marquee event kicking off Science Odyssey, a national celebration of science and technology running May 6-21.

The free Science Rendezvous event takes place on Saturday, May 13, from 11 a.m.-3 p.m.

Representatives from the faculties of Science, Engineering, Medicine and the School of Pharmacy will present exciting and interactive exhibits and activities for people of all ages.