Memorial faculty named to Science Atlantic Hall of Fame

Oct 7th, 2013

Kelly Foss & Naomi Osborne

Science Atlantic Hall of Fame
Memorial faculty named to Science Atlantic Hall of Fame

Three faculty members at Memorial University were inducted into the Science Atlantic Hall of fame during the annual Dean of Science Awards Ceremony on Sept. 24.

Science Atlantic, formerly the Atlantic Provinces Council on the Sciences or APICS, is a charitable association of 18 post secondary and research institutes in Atlantic Canada with a mandate to advance science education and research at the undergraduate level. The Outstanding Members Hall of Fame is intended to honour individuals who have shown exemplary and outstanding service to Science Atlantic.

Executive director Lois Whitehead traveled from the organization’s office in Halifax to present the special awards to Dr. Edgar Goodaire of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Frederick Smith of the Dean of Science Office and Cyr Couturier, research scientist at the Marine Institute (MI) and chair of the aquaculture programs at MI and Memorial.

“I’m here to recognize these members who have contributed so much to Science Atlantic,” she said. “Science Atlantic is organized by a staff of one, so activities are carried out by faculty at the member universities. The three people joining the Hall of Fame today have contributed, on average, 20 years each to the organization.”

Dr. Neil Ross of the National Research Council of Canada will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame this year. “It is no coincidence that three of the four inductees are from Memorial University. Memorial has had a significant impact on Science Atlantic since its inception,” said Dr. Andy Foster, Associate Dean of Science and executive member of Science Atlantic.

Dr. Goodaire was inducted into the Hall of Fame as an Outstanding Member. He retired at the rank of Professor at the end of August 2013 after a 40-year career in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics of Memorial University. He served as the head of department from 1991 to 1994 and as interim head during the academic year 2011-2012. He was the 2004 winner of the Distinguished Service award of the Canadian Mathematical Society, which he has served in many capacities for over 30 years, including stints as treasurer and vice-president.

“This is an enormous honour of which I am very proud,” said Dr. Goodaire. “I have been a strong supporter of APICS/Atlantic Science since arriving at Memorial in 1973 and hope that my colleagues will continue to support and nurture this wonderful organization for many years to come.”

Mr. Smith also was inducted as an Outstanding Member. Since joining Memorial’s faculty in 1970, he has taught science, biology, astrophysics and short courses for the Faculty of Education, Newfoundland School Boards, the Ontario Veterinary Medical Association and the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada. A founding member of the Science Fair movement in Newfoundland and a founder of the Newfoundland Science Centre, Mr. Smith has been involved in organizing numerous fairs and conferences on campus and has been a president, editor, writer and/or member of a variety of committees and societies focusing on science, history, heritage and ancestry.

“I am absolutely delighted to be a member of the Science Atlantic Hall of Fame,” said Mr. Smith. “It is quite an honour.”

Mr. Couturier was inducted as an Outstanding Contributing Member. He was recognized for his contributions towards the promotion of aquaculture and fisheries science to Atlantic Canadian undergraduate and graduate students over the last two decades. Outside his role at Memorial, Mr. Couturier is also the executive director for the Newfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association.

“I’m humbled that I was even nominated. The biggest reward for me is mentoring students and seeing them pursue careers in marine biology, aquaculture, fisheries or environmental science,” said Mr. Couturier.  “I view this award as recognition of their collective success and accomplishments.”


Faculty of Science

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000