Tribute Awards

Check out the latest Tribute Award Winners

Background: The MUNPA Tribute Awards renames and expands on MUNPA's former Meritorious Service Awards which were offered from 1999 to 2008. The first MUNPA Tribute Awards were presented in 2009.

Purpose and Criteria: The MUNPA Tribute Awards were established to recognize the importance of the ongoing contributions of Memorial's retirees to the University or the Community. The Award is offered annually and a maximum of three recipients may be honored each year. The Award recognizes significant post-retirement service and/or achievement by retired faculty or staff. The service may be volunteer or remunerated in any of the following categories:

Service to the University; Service to the Community; Significant achievements in other areas that exemplify the ongoing contribution of the nominee.

Eligibility: In order to be eligible for the award, an individual must meet the following requirements:

1) A nominee must have been employed by Memorial University as a faculty or staff member for a minimum of five years and must now be officially retired.

2) The nominators must include at least two members of MUNPA. Other supporters are also welcomed.

3) The official nomination form must be completed and submitted to the Committee Chair in person or online by the deadline date.

Criteria for Selection: Candidates for the award shall be selected by a committee appointed by the MUNPA Board of Directors. The committee shall meet within two weeks of the deadline date for submission of nominations to review the nominations received and to make recommendations to the Board regarding award recipient(s).

The nomination of the candidate must provide specific descriptive evidence of post-retirement service. The evidence will be assessed for its breadth (number and kind of organizations or groups, positions held, types of activities in which the candidate engaged, etc.), depth (amount of dedicated time, kinds of leadership offered, etc.) and significance (impact of candidate's involvement and/or significance of results).

The Award: Those individuals who have been selected to receive the Tribute Award are honored in the Fall semester by a formal reception hosted by the Office of the President of Memorial University. The President of the University and the President of MUNPA present the honoree(s) with an award certificate and a non-monetary token of recognition.

The decisions of the Selection Committee are final.


MUNPA Tribute Award Nomination Form - download here or contact



Previous Tribute Award Winners



Ms. Doreen Whalen

Dr. Edgar Williams


Warwick Hewitt

Dr. Marguerite MacKenzie

Dr. Mahmoud Haddara


Carolyn Harley

Kjellrun Hestekin


Henry Mann

Mary Kathleen (Kay) Matthews

Allan Stein


Evan Simpson

Jean Briggs


Phyllis Artiss

John Walsh

Ellen St. Croix

2012Tony Chadwick

Bill Redden

Verna Skanes


Arthur May

Sharon Buelher

Shirley Fraize


Roberta Buchanan

Joan Scott

Noel Veitch

2008Dr. D. V. Reddy

Sheena Findley

William Allerdice

Cater Andrews


Alistair Riach

Antony Duarte

Carmen Mews

Carmel Woodford

Charles Rennie

Doug Eaton

Ferris Hodgett

Herbert Jackson


M. Josephine Barron

Helen F. Carew

Phyllis Dunn Delaney

John M. Facey

Marjorie Dodge Frampton

Bernard S. Jackson

Ian Mennie

R. Corben Noel

V. Stephen Papezik

Arthur M. Sullivan



MUN Pensioners' Association (MUNPA)

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000