Faculty

Faculty members are full-time members of the department who have considerable research expertise in their subject field. They supervise our graduate students, are members of professional organizations and university committees, participate in public events and are committed to the overall strength of the Department of Archaeology at Memorial University. 

Click on the faculty name to find out more about their research, current projects, student supervision and publications.


 

Dr. Mario Blaser

Associate Professor
Tier II Canada Research Chair in Aboriginal Studies
Office: QC-4017
Telephone:
Email: mblaser@mun.ca

Research Interests: Indigenous politics, ontology, the study of science and technology.


 

Dr. Meghan Burchell

Associate Professor
Office: QC 2007
Telephone:
Email: mburchell@mun.ca

Research Interests: coastal landscapes, isotope analysis, sclerochronology, geochemical applications in archaeology, climate proxies, hunter-gatherers, mortuary archaeology, gender and archaeology.


 

Dr. Véronique Forbes

Assistant Professor
Office: QC 4014
Telephone:
Email: vforbes@mun.ca

Research Interests: Quaternary entomology, environmental archaeology, sustainability, public archaeology, Newfoundland and Labrador, Iceland, Greenland, Alaska. 


 

Dr. Barry Gaulton

Associate Professor
Editor, Newfoundland and Labrador Studies
Office: QC 2009
Telephone:
Email: bgaulton@mun.ca

Research Interests: historical archaeology, vernacular architecture, material culture, military archaeology, maritime archaeology, transhumance, Eastern North America and Newfoundland.


 

Dr. Vaughan Grimes

Associate Professor
Graduate Coordinator
Office: QC 2008
Telephone:
Email: vgrimes@mun.ca

Research Interests: Archaeological Science, Bioarchaeology, Archaeogeophysics, Forensic Archaeology, Isotope Analysis.


Dr. Paul Ledger

Assistant Professor
Office: QC-4011
Telephone:
Email: pledger@mun.ca

Research Interests: Norse Greenland; North Atlantic Archaeology; historical archaeology; palaeoecology; farming; biogeography; chronology; radiocarbon dating; uncertainty and error.


Dr. Catherine Losier

Assistant Professor
Office: QC 4009
Telephone:
Email: closier@mun.ca

Research Interests: historical archaeology, French colonies, Atlantic colonial world, material culture studies, cultural interaction, colonial economies.


  

Dr. Oscar Moro Abadía

Associate Professor
Office: QC 4019
Telephone:
Email: omoro@mun.ca

Research Interests: Prehistoric Art, Art History, Indigenous Arts, Science and Technology, Philosophy of Science, History of Science.


Dr. Scott Neilsen

Assistant Professor
Office: Labrador Institute Research Station
Telephone:
Email: scott.neilsen@mun.ca

Research Interests: Cultural Resources Management; Anthropological, Community, Contemporary, Indigenous and Public Archaeologies; Decolonization; Eastern Subarctic Cultural & Environmental History; Labrador Society & Culture.


Dr. Lisa Rankin

Professor
Memorial University Research Chair, Northern Indigenous Community Archaeology
Office: QC 2010
Telephone:
Email: lrankin@mun.ca

Research Interests: post-medieval cultural encounters in the archaeological record between Labrador Inuit and Europeans, and interactions between Northeastern Indigenous populations over the past several Millennia; hunter-gatherers, ethnicity and identity, landscapes, settlement patterns, eastern Sub-Arctic.


  

Dr. Peter J. Whitridge

Professor
Head of Department
Office: QC 4010 / QC 2002
Telephone:
Email: peter.whitridge@mun.ca

Research Interests: embodiment, place and landscape; hunter-fisher-gatherer social and economic relations; human-animal relations; imaginaries; childhood; sport; contemporary archaeology; Arctic. 


Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Amanda Crompton
Dr. Laura Kelvin (University of Manitoba)
Dr. Shannon Lewis-Simpson (Memorial University)
Dr. Madeleine Mant (Memorial University)
Dr. Andrea Procter (Memorial University)


Cross-appointed Faculty

Dr. Trevor Bell (Geography)
Dr. Marica Cassis (History)
Dr. Neil Kennedy (History)


Former Faculty

Dr. Stuart C. Brown
Dr. Michael Deal
Dr. Sonja Jerkic
Dr. Peter E. Pope
Dr. Priscilla Renouf
Dr. James A. Tuck

 

    

Contact

Department of Archaeology

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000