Memorial University researcher co-ordinates global ocean observation

A global team of scientists, including a researcher from Canada’s Memorial University of Newfoundland, is bringing the world together in a co-ordinated effort to observe the Atlantic Ocean.

Dr. Brad de Young is a professor with the Department of Physics and Physical Oceanography, Faculty of Science.

He’s helped develop the vision for AtlantOS, the All-Atlantic Ocean Observing System, which aims to establish a sustainable, multidisciplinary, multi-thematic system supported by countries around the Atlantic, building on the observing platforms, networks and systems already in place.


Read More

Thirteen Memorial faculty members receive high honour

Thirteen Memorial University professors have been accorded the designation professor emeritus/emerita, an honour reserved for highly distinguished faculty members.

In the Faculty of Science, the new professores emeriti are Dr. Ali Engin Aksu, Department of Earth Sciences; Dr. John T. Brosnan, Department of Biochemistry; Dr. William Driedzic, Department of Ocean Sciences and Dr. Raymond A. Poirier, Department of Chemistry.

Read More

Memorial leading Atlantic Canadian mathematical collaboration

Memorial's Department of Mathematics and Statistics is home to a new collaborative research group.

Groups, Rings, Lie and Hopf Algebras is funded by the Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences (AARMS) and is administered by Dr. Yorck Sommerhäuser.


Read More

More than $5.5 million in federal funding to focus on enhancing oil spill response measures

The federal government is investing more than $5.5 million into multidisciplinary research led by Memorial that focuses on techniques and technologies to aid in oil spill response in Canada.

Six new projects, funded under Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Multi-Partner Research Initiative (MPRI), aim to ensure Canadians have access to the best scientific information and methods available to respond to oil spills by supporting collaborative research among oil spill experts both in Canada and worldwide.

Read More

First-year students awarded $180,000 in scholarships choose Memorial

Two first-year students at Memorial University have been named 2019 recipients of Schulich Leader Scholarships.

Established in 2012 by Canadian business leader and philanthropist Seymour Schulich, this annual scholarship program encourages Canada’s most promising high school graduates to purse degrees in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) disciplines and become the next generation of innovators.


Read More

York vision program 'totally reshapes' science students career planning

Two science students have new insight into the wide range of research areas involved in vision research.

Read More

Rhodes Scholarship

The Rhodes Scholarship external deadline is September 27th, 2019. However, the internal deadline for Science student applicants to submit the full package to the Dean of Science office is September 20, 2019.

Read More

Earth scientist tracing origins of Maritime Archaic copper artifacts

Uncovering a mystery thousands of years old.

That’s what Dr. Derek Wilton, Honorary Research Professor in the Faculty of Science’s earth sciences department, is doing in collaboration with The Rooms’ museum division.


Read More


Faculty of Science

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000