Canadian Student and Postdoc Conference on Gravity

MUN and AARMS Logo

The Canadian Student and Postdoc Conference on Gravity (CSPCG) will provide a forum for both Canadian and international graduate students and postdocs to gather and present their research. It invites submissions for talks covering all aspects of gravitational research, among which

  • mathematical relativity
  • numerical relativity
  • quantum gravity
  • string theory
  • gravitational waves
  • relativistic astrophysics
  • cosmology

CSPCG will run as a virtual event from May 4-6, 2021, creating an accessible platform for graduate students and postdocs who do not necessarily have the financial resources or ability to travel.


On the first day, May 4, there will be presentations from M.Sc. students. Then on May 5, we will hear from Ph.D. students. And, finally, May 6 will be reserved for postdocs. Each day will be divided into two sessions: from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm and from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm.

The schedule is as follows:

CSPCG Schedule

*Note that all specified times are in
the Eastern Daylight Time Zone (UTC -04:00).

If possible, all those who register for a presentation will be given a chance to talk. However, if a section does not have enough timeslots for all those who wish to speak, the scientific committee will select the talks from the submissions, and some of the remaining participants will be offered the chance to participate in a poster session. If it is necessary to make such a choice, the selection will also take into account the principles of equity, diversity, and inclusion.

Best Student Talk Competition

After the talks, the scientific committee will award the top three presentations of students. The cash prizes sponsored by the Atlantic Association of Research in Mathematical Sciences (AARMS) are as follows:

CSPCG Awards

*Note that if a student is awarded one of the top three places but does not reside
in Canada, then it will be a recognition award rather than a financial award.

Scientific Committee
  • Matthew Choptuik (University of British Colombia)
  • Bianca Dittrich (Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics)
  • Valerio Faraoni (Bishop's University)
  • Viqar Husain (University of New Brunswick)
  • Hari K. Kunduri (Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • Luis Lehner (Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics)
  • Robert Mann (University of Waterloo)
  • Dmitri Pogosyan (University of Alberta)
  • Eric Poisson (University of Guelph)
Organization Committee

Student organizer
Turkuler Durgut (Memorial University of Newfoundland) 

Faculty advisor
Ivan Booth (Memorial University of Newfoundland) 


The CSPCG is made possible through support from the Atlantic Association of Research in Mathematical Sciences (AARMS).

The CSPCG is committed to diversity and inclusivity; and welcomes all participants, including women; people of any sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression; Indigenous peoples; visible minorities/racialized people; and people with disabilities.

The CSPCG acknowledges that the lands on which Memorial University’s campuses are situated are in the traditional territories of diverse Indigenous groups, and it acknowledges with respect the diverse histories and cultures of the Beothuk, Mi’kmaq, Innu, and Inuit of this province.