News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 273

SUBJECT: Outstanding business students inducted into international society

DATE: May 31

Twenty-six outstanding business students from Memorial joined the ranks of high society last week after being inducted into the prestigious Beta Gamma Sigma international honour society. Being inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive at a school accredited by AACSB International – the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

“The international business community recognizes that Beta Gamma Sigma members have attained academic excellence and are committed to ethical and professional business practices,” said Dr. Gary Gorman, dean of Memorial’s Faculty of Business Administration.

During the induction ceremony, bachelor of commerce (co-operative) student Paul Ralph was awarded the 2004 Beta Gamma Sigma Scholarship valued at $2000.“Paul is a wonderful example of the talented business students here at Memorial,” said finance professor and president of the local Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter, Dr. Alex Faseruk. “Paul intends to pursue doctoral studies and has recently had a paper, co-authored with Drs. Jeff Parsons and Katherine Gallagher, accepted for presentation at the Semantic Web Personalization Workshop which is part of the 19th annual Conference of Artificial Intelligence in San Diego, CA, this summer.”

While almost 300,000 students receive a bachelor or master degree in business each year, only about 18,000 are inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma. Students ranking in the top seven per cent of the junior class, top 10 per cent of the senior class and top 20 per cent of the master programs at schools accredited by AACSB are eligible to be inducted into the society. The society encourages its members to follow the principles and values of Beta Gamma Sigma: honour and integrity, pursuit of wisdom and earnestness.

On May 26, Memorial inducted the following students into the Beta Gamma Sigma honour society:


Beth Heather Barbour, St. John’s

Tanya Melissa Byrne, St. John’s

Sarah Lorraine Crocker, St. John’s

Lisa Gushue, Spaniard’s Bay

Julia Dawn Hamilton, St. John’s

Stephanie M. Hillier, Mt. Pearl

David Paul Ralph, Mt. Pearl

Matthew Short, St. John’s

Laura Sharon Wardle, St. John’s


Colin David Andrews, St. John’s

Terrence W. Carroll, St. John’s

Natasha Lynn Lawlor, St. John’s

Jeff J. Simmonds, Bay Roberts

Jennifer Louise Tipple, St. John’s

Amanda Traverse, Jerseyside


Keith R. Blundon, St. John’s

Gordon Andrew Breen, St. John’s

Melanie Gash, Paradise

Yuan Lew, Paradise

Christopher James Nagle, North Vancouver

Gordon Robert Pike, St. John’s

Gail B. Seipp, St. John’s

Heather Sarah Squires, St. John’s

Todd Douglas Taylor, Mt. Pearl

Catherine Mary Trask, St. John’s

Lesley Theresa Parrott, Mt. Pearl

- 30 -

Editor’s note: A photo of Dr. Gary Gorman presenting the Beta Gamma Sigma membership certificate to Paul Ralph is available at

For more information, please contact Aimee Sheppard, communications co-ordinator, (business), Memorial University (709)737-2616 or


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000