Faculty


Professor Emerita


 

Lan Gien

Gien, Lan., B.Sc.N. Loretta Heights College, M.Ed.N. Columbia, PhD London, FCAN (Fellow, Canadian Academy of Nursing)

lgien@mun.ca

Expertise: Aging, Women’s health; primary health care; population health; intercultural health; program evaluation


 

 Sandra LeFort

LeFort Sandra., BA Trent, MN Memorial, PhD McGill 

slefort@mun.ca

Expertise: Self-care/self-management of chronic pain; pain assessment and management; knowledge exchange and translation; advanced practice nursing roles; ethical practice issues; telehomecare; evaluation


 

Dr. Shirley Solberg

Solberg, Shirley., BN, MN Memorial, PhD University of Alberta

ssolberg@mun.ca

Expertise: Women’s health; occupational health; chronic pain conditions associated with work; social inequality and social determinants of health; qualitative research methodologies; and ethics of publication

 


 

Chris Way

Way, Christine., BN, BA Memorial, M.Sc(A) McGill, PhD Virginia;

Winner of President's Award for Distinguished Teaching 1999

cway@mun.ca

Expertise: End-stage renal disease and life on dialysis; impact of healthcare reforms on provider groups; evaluation of programs for women at risk during pregnancy; chronic illnesses


 

Dr. Sandra Small

Small, Sandra., BN Memorial, M.Sc.N. Toronto, PhD Alberta  

ssmall@mun.ca

Expertise: Respiratory health, including aspects of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; asthma and youth smoking; parenting children about risk factors.

 


Professors


 

Dr. Alice Gaudine

Gaudine, Alice., B.Sc. (Hons) Mount Allison, M.Sc. (A) McGill, PhD Concordia

agaudine@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-4549
Room: H2926

Expertise: Nursing leadership; nurse's ethical conflicts; employee absenteeism; nurses' work life


 

Dr. Anne Kearney

Kearney, Anne., BN Memorial, M.H.Sc. Toronto, PhD Memorial 

akearney@mun.ca

Tel:(709) 864-2270
Room: H2955

Expertise: Quality of nurses' worklife; mindfulness-based interventions for health care workers; breast screening effectiveness particularly related to mammography screening.


 

Dr. Sandy Mac

MacDonald, Sandra., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Walden

Winner of the President's Award for Distinguished Teaching 2011

smacdon@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-4626 
Room: H3467

Expertise: Community health needs and resources assessment; program evaluation; critical care nursing; nursing management, leadership qualities and styles


 

Donna M

Moralejo, Donna., BA, B.Sc., M.Sc.(A) McGill, PhD Calgary 

moralejo@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3603
Room: ED-5004C

Expertise: Infection control, surveillance; population/public health; evidence-based practice


 

Dr. Karen Parsons

Parsons, Karen., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Rush

Winner of the President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching 2014

karenp@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-2305
Room: H2959

Expertise: Healthy aging; memory impairment in the older adult; teaching approaches to learning and critical thinking especially in the care of the older adult; Heideggerian hermeneutic phenomenology

Click here to find out more about Dr. Parsons' current program of research.

 


Associate Professors


 Andrea Brennan-Hunter

Brennan-Hunter, Andrea., BScN, St. Francis Xavier, MN, D alhousie

brennan@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-7809
Room: H3470

Expertise: Pain in children; parental advocacy; intervention strategies for helping children manage procedures; adolescent smoking; student progress in nursing

 


 

Dr. Julia Lukewich 

Lukewich, Julia., BNSc., MN, PhD Queen's 

jlukewich@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-8211
Room: H2953

Expertise: Primary care, nursing roles, organizational attributes, chronic disease management, type 2 diabetes, health outcomes, quantitative research methods, systematic reviews, secondary data analysis

Click here to find out more about Dr. Lukewich's current program of research.


 

Joy Maddigan

Maddigan, Joy., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Calgary

jmaddigan@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3606
Room: ED-5004E

Expertise: Psychiatric mental health nursing; early psychosis intervention; families and health; advancing nursing practice; mixed methods research

Click here to find out more about her current program of research.


Cindy Murray

 Murray, Cindy., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Alberta (On Leave)

cindym@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3608
Room: H3439

Expertise: Community and population health; health promotion and chronic disease prevention; determinants of health; health policy; health inequities; Indigenous peoples and health; healthy child development; women's health; body weight and health; fetal programming of chronic diseases; quantitative, qualitative, and interdisciplinary research

Click here to find out more about her current program of research.   


 

April Pike19

Pike, April., BN, MN, PhD Memorial  

Winner, President's Award for Distinguished Teaching, 2020
Winner of the President's Award for Exceptional Community Service, 2016

aprilpike@mun.ca

Tel:709-864-7453

Room: H2951

Expertise: Genetics; sociocultural theories of risk; community health; cardiovascular disease; organ procurement; qualitative research methods; grounded theory; phenomenology

Click here to find out more about Dr. Pike's current program of research.

 


Assistant Professors


 

Jill Bruneau

Bruneau, Jill., BN, MHSc,Toronto, PhD, Memorial 

jill.bruneau@mun.ca

Tel: 864-3604

Room:ED5004C

Expertise and areas of interest: Advanced Practice Nursing/Nurse Practitioner; Cardiovascular Health, Health Promotion; Risk Factor Management, special interest in hypertension management; motivational interviewing; and mixed methods research.


 

Mary Bursey

Bursey, Mary., BN, Memorial, M.ScN, Toronto

Tel: 709-864-4552mbursey@mun.ca

Room: H3477

Expertise: Cardiovascular nursing; gerontology; patient safety

 


 

Cassell, Lindsey, BN, MemorialMN, South Queensland, DNP (PhD), Grand Canyon 

lindsey.cassell@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-6128
Room: Ed5004F


 

Renee C 2015

Crossman, Renee., BN, MN, MemorialPhD, Alberta 

crossman@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-4459
Room: H3473

Areas of interest: Diabetes management; focused ethnography; critical discourse analysis; practice-based research; sociomateriality; chronic disease prevention and management

 


 

Robin Burry

Devey-Burry, Robin., BScN, Ottawa, MN, South Queensland, PhD, Ottawa 

rdburry@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8112
Room: H3475

Expertise and areas of interest: Mentorship, transition to practice, new nursing graduates, organizational and professional socialization, nursing recruitment, retention and recognition, qualitative and quantitative research methods, interpretive description, secondary data analysis, systematic reviews, quality improvement and program evaluation.

 


 

Karen Dobbin Williams

Dobbin-Williams, Karen., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Calgary

kdobbinw@mun.ca
Room: H3461
Tel: 709-864-4488


Expertise: Food allergies and anaphylaxis, chronic illnesses, Diabetes, cardiovascular disease, 
surgical site infection risk factors, primary health care, Gadamerian philosophical hermeneutics,
systematic reviews, maternal theory, teenagers/adolescents


 

Jennifer Howard

Howard, Jennifer., BScN, PhD Western,

Jhoward13@mun.ca
Tel:864-2539

 

Expertise: Art-based research, teaching, learning and interventions;
neurodegenerative disorders (i.e. multiple sclerosis and dementia), gerontological health, community and family health. Mixed-methods in nursing research; statistical analysis, research methodologies, phenomenology and qualitative research in nursing

 


 

 

Hurley (Samms), Erica., BN Memorial, MN Athabasca, PhD (c) CCNE, RN

Ehurley@grenfell.mun.ca
Tel: (709) 784-6503

 

Expertise: Indigenous health, Indigenous women, Indigenous research- Indigenous research methodlogy, community based research, heart health, simulation, nursing education.

 


 

Kimberly Jarvis

Jarvis, Kimberly., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Alberta

kimberly.jarvis@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2746
Room: H2936

Expertise: Dr. Jarvis' research focuses on the intersection of culturally-entangled practices and gendered roles that have marginalizing consequences for women – particularly upon a woman’s sexual and reproductive health. She endeavors to understand, measure and evaluate these issues so to effect change in health-care practice and social policy, conducting her research in a Canadian and sub Saharan African context employing critical qualitative approaches.


 

Paula Kelly

Kelly, Paula., BN U Victoria ’98 MSN UBC ‘02, PhD Memorial

paulak@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-4763
Room: H3472

 

Expertise: Nurses’ work, nursing knowledge, women’s health, qualitative research methods, institutional ethnography

 


 

Nicole Lewis-Power

Lewis- Power, Nicole., BN Memorial, MN Dalhousie, PhD (c) Memorial 

nicolelewis@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2958
Room: H3457

Expertise: Preterm birth, children with health challenges, school/community/provincial supports for children with health challenges, pediatric nursing, breastfeeding, qualitative research methods.

 


 

 Nicole Snow

Snow, Nicole., BN, MN, Memorial, PhD Alberta, RN 

nicole.snow@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3607
Room: ED-5004D

Expertise: Exploring dimensions of relationships and engagement (primarily in mental health contexts); ethical considerations inherent in professional care; the concept of professionalism and its praxis; interprofessional education and practice.

Click here to find out more about Dr. Snow's current program of research.


 

Kathleen Stevens

Stevens, Kathleen.,  BN, MN, PhD Memorial

kathleen.stevens@mun.ca

Tel: 864-7100

Room:H2932

Expertise: Foot health; populations at risk for foot health problems such as individuals with diabetes, peripheral vascular disease, arthritis, and the elderly; self-management; and mixed methods research


 

Hrag Yacoubian, 

Yacoubian, Hrag David., BN, MScN British Columbia (UBC), PhD(c) UBC 

hyacoubian@mun.ca

Tel: 864-7114

Room:H3465

Expertise: Hrag studies nursing and healthcare history with an emphasis on North American humanitarian organizations and nurses involved in humanitarian efforts transnationally, in the Near East, in the first half of the 20th century. Hrag explores ways nurses practiced humanitarianism, highlighting the complexity of their work defined by modernity, political engagement and human rights.


 profile image of FON faculty member

Younas, Ahtisham., BScN, MN, PhD, Memorial

ay6133@mun.ca 

Tel: 709-864-7453

Room: H2930

Expertise: Marginalized populations; compassion and caregiving; implementation science, ethics and nursing education; self-awareness; mixed methods; research methods

 


 

Clinical Coordinator 

 

Durdle, Kelli.,

kelli.durdle@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-8507
Room: H3471

 

Watkins, Andrea., (on leave)


Lecturers 

 


 

Baldwin, Daisy

daisy.baldwin@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-4326
Room: H3476

 

 


Dee Anne

Belbin, Dee Anne

g32dab@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8932
Room: H3462


 

Byrne, Jeannette

jmbyrne@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-7254
Room: H2906


 

Ruth Chandran

Chandran, Ruth              

rchandran@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8855
Room: H3474


 

 Krsta C

Krista Collett

kcollett@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2596
Room: H2942


 

 Ashley Crane

Ashley Crane

ashleycrane@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-3458
Room: H3476


 

Krista King

King, Krista

krista.king@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-4618
Room: H3478

 


 

Mullett, Karen

k.mullett@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-7345
Room: H2944

 


 

Nicholas, Juliette

julie.nicholas@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8787
Room: H3464

 


 

Lynn VB

Vivian-Book, Lynn

lvivianbook@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-4069
Room: H2944

 


 Per Semester/Per Course Appointment


 

Antle, Margot

 


 

 

Baker, Sheree

 


 

 

Blackmore, William

w.blackmore@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Bonia, Alice

p46amb@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Bonnier, Charlotte

 


 

 

Bouzane, Alison

 


 

 

Careen, Vivian

vivian.careen@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Carnell, Erin

eglynn@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Cobbs, Olivia

 


 

 

Dunn, Casey

cad612@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Greene, Charlene

 


 

 

 

Hammond, Nicole

nh3070@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Hardman, Brittany

bhardman@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Isaacs, Savannah

d46sci@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Isler, Chantille

v43cihb@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Joy, Amanda

asvj23@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8589
Room: 2950


 

Matchim, Shirley

smatchim@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Murphy, Kristina

kamm18@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954

 


 

Owens, Ronald

rowens@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Puddester, Rebecca

rjp823@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Murphy, Kristina

kamm18@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Smith, Deanne

s62dms@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8823
Room: H3464


 

Stevenson, Michelle

u39mms@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 

Thompson, Kelly

kdt707@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954

 


 

Thorne, Zachery

 


 

Walsh, Derrick

 


 

 

 Honorary Doctorate Degree


 Matthews, M.K., BN, MN, LLD Memorial

matthews@mun.ca