Ethnomusicology Graduate Program Faculty

Core Faculty

Harris M. Berger (Canada Research Chair) – American popular music, heavy metal music, phenomenology, and the theoretical foundations of ethnomusicology and folklore studies. Director, MMaP Research Centre

Holly Everett – issues of power and ideology in belief, music, and material culture, particularly in the contexts of occupational folklife and cultural tourism

Kati Szego – choral music/the voice, Hawai’i, diaspora, race, gender. Editor, Yearbook for Traditional Music

Cory Thorne – queer and vernacular theory, Cuba, underground economies, popular culture/music, critical regionalism

Affiliated Faculty

Beverley Diamond (Professor Emerita) – Indigenous music, gender, mediation

Meghan Forsyth – Acadian music and dance, diaspora, cultural tourism, Atlantic Canada, British Isles. Director, Bruneau Centre for Excellence in Choral Music; Project Coordinator, MMaP Research Centre

Tom Gordon (Professor Emeritus) – Moravian music, Nunatsiavut

Jane Gosine – music therapy, community music

Kristin Harris Walsh – Irish and Newfoundland dance

Ian Sutherland – sociology of music, leadership

Jeffrey van den Scott – Inuit music, Canada, contemporary music


Music, Media and Place

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000