News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 45

SUBJECT: National recognition for Memorial University pharmacy professor

DATE: Nov. 15

Dr. Debbie Kelly received the highest honour the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP) can bestow when she was recently named a fellow of that organization. Dr. Kelly’s fellow status will be formally acknowledged in February 2013 at the CSHP Professional Practice Conference in Toronto, Ont.
The fellow program was started more than 40 years ago and it distinguishes individuals who have made a significant, long-term and sustained contribution to CSHP and the profession of pharmacy through outstanding leadership, dedication and commitment to practise excellence and professional growth. These efforts manifest themselves in a variety of areas of service to the society, to patient care, to education or research, and to the profession.
Dr. Kelly’s induction is based on a 13-year career of progressive achievements that reflect an exceptional level of commitment to the practice of pharmacy, patient care and education. She also carries the distinction of being the first person in the history of the CSHP fellow program to come from Newfoundland and Labrador. 
“It’s a wonderful honour to be recognized by my peers for my contributions to patient care and pharmacy practice,” said Dr. Kelly. “I am privileged to work with many amazing pharmacist colleagues, as well as with a supportive and collaborative clinical team through the HIV program. I hope this is the first of many future CSHP fellows to be recognized from Newfoundland and Labrador.”
A graduate of Memorial University’s pharmacy program, Dr. Kelly went on to receive her doctor of pharmacy from the University of Toronto. She is an associate professor with the School of Pharmacy at Memorial University with a cross appointment to Memorial’s Faculty of Medicine. Dr. Kelly is the clinical pharmacotherapy specialist for the provincial HIV program through Eastern Health, a board member with the AIDS Committee of Newfoundland and Labrador and the past-chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Pharmacy Board.
Over the last 13 years, Dr. Kelly has played a key role in the development of HIV patient care in Newfoundland and Labrador, significantly expanding her scope of practice in all aspects of HIV treatment, education and awareness. Most recently Dr. Kelly was the principal investigator on a CIHR application to host a Café Scientifique event on World AIDS Day in 2011 and in March 2012 was a co-organizer and speaker for the first provincial HIV conference for primary healthcare providers in Newfoundland and Labrador.
            An accomplished scholar and educator, she has been published in a number of peer-reviewed journals and has many other publications, posters and oral presentations to her credit. Dr. Kelly has received numerous awards for her teaching and professional activities. She has held leadership positions and is an active member of several professional organizations at both a provincial and national level.
Dr. Jason Kielly, president of CSHP’s Newfoundland and Labrador branch and an assistant professor at Memorial’s School of Pharmacy, nominated Dr. Kelly.
“I believe Debbie fully embodies what it means to be a CSHP fellow,” he said. “She has been at the forefront of patient care and advanced pharmacy practice in this province for as long as she has practised here. Debbie is a pillar of the pharmacy community and has made invaluable contributions to the profession through her work at the School of Pharmacy, our provincial association and our local CSHP branch. I cannot think of a person more deserving of this honour.”  
The Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists is a national, voluntary organization of pharmacists committed to patient care through the advancement of safe, effective medication use in hospitals and other collaborative healthcare settings. Committing to advancing hospital pharmacy practice in Canada, CSHP is an advocate for the profession and is focused on equipping pharmacists to enable the greatest potential for practice.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact David Penney, communications co-ordinator, School of Pharmacy, Memorial University, at (709) 777-7302, or Dr. Jason Kielly, president, Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists, Newfoundland and Labrador branch, at (709) 777-2980,


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000