News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 204

SUBJECT: Memorial University to hold spring convocation ceremonies next week

DATE: May 20

More than 2,000 degrees will be awarded at Memorial University’s annual spring convocation at the St. John’s Arts and Culture Centre next week. There will be eight sessions of convocation from May 24-27, 2011. In addition, remarkable individuals from the worlds of the arts, public service and academia will be awarded honorary degrees during the convocation ceremonies.
The honourees include molecular biologist Dr. Sidney Altman; bandleader and public relations specialist Edsel Bonnell; fisherman and community leader Donald Best; scientist E. David Morgan; musician and composer Alexander (Sandy) Morris; literature and history specialist Patrick O’Flaherty; philanthropist Elinor Gill Ratcliffe; and author John Ralston Saul.
Humanitarian Stephen Lewis received an honorary doctor of laws degree on May 13 during Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland’s spring convocation session. Dr. Lewis was to receive the degree at convocation in Corner Brook last year but was absent due to illness.
Honorary degree recipients are chosen from nominations from the public by the Senate, the university’s academic governing body, after a careful
examination of the grounds for their nomination. The honorary doctorate degree
is designed to recognize extraordinary contribution to society or exceptional intellectual or artistic achievement.                                                   
The awarding of honorary doctorates, an important feature of Memorial’s convocation, serves to celebrate both the individual and the university, as well as to inspire graduates, their families and guests.
Memorial’s President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Gary Kachanoski will deliver his report during the first convocation session of each day from May 24-27. The second session of each day will see members of Memorial’s senior administration speak. Kent Decker, vice-president (administration and finance) will speak on Tuesday, May 24, at 7:30 p.m.; Dr. Christopher Loomis, vice-president (research), will speak on Wednesday, May 25, at 3 p.m.; Dr. Evan Simpson, vice-president (academic) pro tempore, will speak on Thursday, May 26, at 3 p.m.; and Dr. Rob Shea, dean of Student Affairs and Services pro tempore, will speak on Friday, May 27, at 3 p.m.
The university is also developing a convocation supplement in collaboration with The Telegram. The May 28 feature — likely to be a memorable keepsake for graduates and their families – will feature the names of the graduates together with stories on the outstanding achievements of some graduates.
For further information about convocation, please visit
Memorial’s spring convocation is also being broadcast live on the web. The broadcast will be available for viewing at during each convocation session.  

- 30 -

Media agencies are invited to attend convocation ceremonies. Limited media seating is available and media representatives should ask for Ivan Muzychka at the north door entrance to the auditorium. Videotaping in the auditorium is restricted; a video feed or tape is available upon request. A full schedule follows this release.                                                                                                                  
 For further information, please contact Ivan Muzychka, associate director (communications), Memorial University, (709) 864-8665, cell (709) 687-9433 or
Spring 2011 Convocation Schedule
Degrees Conferred
Honorary Graduand
Convo 1
St. John’s campus
May 24, 3 p.m.
BA(hons.), BA(surnames A-M), BFA (theatre), PhD
Patrick O'Flaherty
Doctor of Letters
Convo 2
St. John’s campus
May 24, 7:30 p.m.
BA (surnames N-Z), BBA(hons.), BBA
Alexander Wayne Morris
Doctor of Letters
Convo 3
St. John’s campus
May 25, 10 a.m.
B.Sc. (hons.), B.Comm.(hons.), B.Comm., B.Comm. (hons.)(co-op.), B.Comm. (co-op.), IBBA (hons.), IBBA, MBA, MER
Eric David Morgan
Doctor of Science
Convo 4
St. John’s campus
May 25, 3 p.m.
B.Sc., M.Sc., MAS
Sidney Altman
Doctor of Science
 Convo 5
St. John’s campus
May 26, 10 a.m.
BPE (hons.), BPE, 
BPE (hons.)(co-op), BPE (co-op), B.Rec., B.Rec.(co-op.),B. Kin.(hons.), B.Kin., B.Kin.(hons.)(co-op.),
B.Kin.(co-op.), BSW, MD, MA, M.Phil., MPE, MSW, MWS, M.Sc. Med., M.Sc.Kin., MPH
John Ralston Saul
Doctor of Letters
Convo 6
St. John’s campus
May 26, 3 p.m.
B.Eng., BMS, B.Tech., M.Eng., M.App.Sc., M.Env.Sc., MMS (Fisheries Resource Management), MEM
Donald Elijah Best
Doctor of Laws
Convo 7
St. John’s campus
May 27, 10 a.m.
BN, B.Sc.Pharm., MN, M.Sc.Pharm.
Elinor Gill Ratcliffe
Doctor of Laws
 Convo 8
St. John’s campus
May 27, 3 p.m.
B.Mus. (hons.), B.Mus., B.Sp. Ed., B.Ed. (native and northern), 
B.Ed. (post-secondary),
B.Ed.(primary/elementary), B.Mus.Ed.,
M. Ed., M.Mus.
Edsel John Bonnell
Doctor of Laws


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000