News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 6

SUBJECT: 2008 Alumni Awards recipients announced

DATE: Sept. 11

The Memorial University Alumni Association is proud to announce 2008 recipients of the Alumni Tribute Awards. The awards recognize individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to their communities and to Memorial University of Newfoundland. The four recipients of 2008 Alumni Tribute Awards are:
           Sister Elizabeth Davis (B.Ed.’75, BA’75, LLD ’02), an honorary doctor of laws, will receive the Alumna of the Year Award for her remarkable energy, her insight, enthusiasm and compassion. Sister Elizabeth has made a giant contribution to the health care education and services in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador. Her exceptional leadership skills ensured that projects such as the Newfoundland and Labrador Centre for Health Information became a model for other jurisdictions across Canada and internationally.
           Earl Ludlow’s (B.Eng.’80, MBA’94) involvement in the community and his commitment to lifelong learning and accessible quality education for all are recognized by the 2008 Alumni Award for Outstanding Community Service. Mr. Ludlow’s corporate leadership is matched by an equally strong commitment to Memorial University of Newfoundland and various professional associations and volunteer organizations across the province and the country.    
           Janet Gardiner’s (LLD’02) exceptional business acumen and her tireless support of Memorial University and students are recognized this year with J.D. Eaton Alumni Award. Ms. Gardiner is also a generous supporter of the arts and has strong interest in promoting Newfoundland culture. 
           Greg Walsh’s (BA’97) remarkable professional success, his generous spirit and his efforts in heritage preservation will be recognized with Alumni Horizon Award. Mr. Walsh is the youngest provincial archivist in Newfoundland and Labrador and the youngest in Canada. His passion for preserving Newfoundland’s cultural treasures is formidable. He is determined to add to that treasure trove through his love of traditional music and gift for performing and composing. 
This year’s award ceremony will take place on Oct. 23, at 6:30 p.m. in R. Gushue Hall. The event is co-chaired by Heidi Janes and Nath Sheppard. The ceremonies will be conducted by a well-known senior producer with CBC’s Here and Now, Doug Letto. This event usually sells out quickly. If you are interested in purchasing the tickets please call the Office of Alumni Affairs and Development as soon as possible. Tickets are $60 per person and are only available in advance. To purchase your tickets, please call 709-737-4354 or e-mail

- 30 -

To learn more about this year’s recipients, please visit the Alumni Affairs website at
For more information contact Bojan Fürst, communications co-ordinator (Alumni Affairs and Development), at (709) 737-2620 or


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000