The Department of Philosophy offers the following programs:

Undergraduate Programs:

Graduate Programs:

Diplomas administered in the Department of Philosophy:

Overview of Graduate Programs

The 1-Year M.A. in Philosophy:

  • One full year of funding (three semesters)
  • Teaching / Research Assistantships available for further funding and experience
  • Two semesters of coursework
  • The thesis is written over the third (summer) semester
  • Solid track-record of placement in Ph.D. programs

The Ph.D Program:

  • Four years of funding at approximately $20,000 per year
  • Teaching / Research Assistantships available for further funding and experience
  • One year of course work
  • Other requirements include the comprehensive examinations, dissertation proposal, second language requirement, and the dissertation
  • Opportunity to teach in our undergraduate programs

All Graduate Programs include:

  • Professional Development and Research Seminar for Graduate Students
  • A focus on graduate writing
  • a Philosophy writing circle
  • Funding for conferences available
  • Biennial Graduate Conference organized by our graduate students
  • Eight full-time faculty members who cover a wide area of expertise
  • Excellent library resources
  • An active and growing graduate student community
  • An active and lively extended philosophical community engaged in weekly discussion groups, colloquia, visiting speaker series, mixers and social events, and more

See our upcoming graduate course offerings

To apply, follow the instructions at

For particular inquires, contact the Philosophy Department Graduate Officer, Dr. James Scott Johnston, at

The Department has particular strengths in the history of philosophy, continental philosophy, and political philosophy.