Graduate officers

As a graduate student at Memorial, a number of faculty and staff members are here to help you at every step of your journey. Every academic unit has a graduate officer, a faculty member who oversees all aspects of graduate program management, including admissions, program requirements, and funding. In addition, administrative staff in academic units are available to provide support and advice to graduate students. Please do not hesitate to reach out to either if you have questions or concerns. For more general inquiries, please you can also contact the faculty and staff in the staff in the School of Graduate Studies.


Anthropology
Dr. Sandrine Jean, Graduate Officer: sjean@mun.ca
Tina Scott, Administrative Staff Specialist: tscott@mun.ca

Archaeology
Dr. Vaughan Grimes, Graduate Officer: vgrimes@mun.ca
Fran Banfield, Academic Program Assistant: fbanfield@mun.ca

Biochemistry
Dr. Robert Bertolo, Graduate Officer: rbertolo@mun.ca
Shannon Hayes, Head's Secretary/Graduate enquiries: shannonh@mun.ca

Biology
Dr. Edward Miller, Graduate Officer: tmiller@mun.ca
Tracey Bishop, Grad Secretary-Academic Support: tbishop@mun.ca

Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences
Dr. Mumtaz Cheema, Graduate Officer: mcheema@grenfell.mun.ca
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Senior Secretary: nsimmons@grenfell.mun.ca

Business Administration (MBA program), Faculty of
Dr. Rachelle  Shannahan, Graduate Officer: rshannahan@mun.ca
Lisa Long, Programs Assistant: llong@mun.ca

Business Administration (Msc and PhD Management program), Faculty of
Dr. Rachelle Shannahan, Graduate Officer: rshannahan@mun.ca
Donna Fitzgerald, Program Assistant: dfitzger@mun.ca

Chemistry
Dr. Christina Bottaro, Graduate Officer: cbottaro@mun.ca
Debbie Hickey, Secretary Graduate Studies: debbieh@mun.ca

Classics
Dr. Brad Levett, Graduate Officer: blevett@mun.ca
Cathy Kieley, Administrative Assistant: ckieley@mun.ca

Cognitive and Behavioural Ecology Program
Dr. David Wilson, Graduate Officer: dwilson@mun.ca
Nancy Bishop, Graduate Secretary: nlbishop@mun.ca

Computer Science
Dr. Oscar Meruvia-Pastor, Graduate Officer: cs-gradofficer@mun.ca
Barbara Hynes, Graduate Secretary: bjhynes@mun.ca

Earth Sciences
Dr. Gregory Dunning, Graduate Officer: earthscihead@mun.ca
Diane Guzzwell, Assistant to the Department Head: dguzzwell@mun.ca

Economics
Dr. Roberto Martinez-Espineira, Graduate Officer: rmartinezesp@mun.ca
Lynn Murphy, Administrative Secretary: lmurphy13@mun.ca

Education, Faculty of
Dr. Rhonda Joy, Graduate Officer: rjoy@mun.ca
Nicole Constantine, Intermediate Secretary: nconstantine@mun.ca

Employment Relations Program (MER)
Dr. Lynn Gambin, Graduate Officer: lynn.gambin@mun.ca
Donna Fitzgerald, Program Assistant: dfitzger@mun.ca

Engineering & Applied Science, Faculty of
Dr. Faisal Khan, Graduate Officer: fikhan@mun.ca
Tina Dwyer, Academic Program Administrator: tdwyer@mun.ca
Jinghua Nie, Manager for International Programs: jnie@mun.ca

English
Dr. Robert Ormsby, Graduate Officer: rormsby@mun.ca
Maureen Battcock, Graduate & Undergraduate Secretary: mbattcock@mun.ca

Environmental Policy
Dr. Paul Foley, Graduate Officer: pfoley@grenfell.mun.ca
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Senior Secretary: nsimmons@grenfell.mun.ca

Environmental Science
Dr. Evan Edinger, Graduate Officer: eedinger@mun.ca
Nancy Bishop, Graduate Secretary: nlbishop@mun.ca

Ethnomusicology
Dr. Methan Forsyth, Graduate Officer: mforsyth@mun.ca
Lisa McDonald, Senior Administrative Officer: lmcdonald@mun.ca

Fine Arts
Professor Ingrid Percy, Graduate Officer: ipercy@grenfell.mun.ca 
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Senior Secretary: nsimmons@grenfell.mun.ca

Fisheries Science
Dr. Arnault LeBris, Graduate Officer: Arnault.LeBris@mi.mun.ca
Dianne Hunt-Hall, Graduate Student Recruitment Officer: Dianne.Hunt-Hall@mi.mun.ca

Folklore
Dr. Cory Thorne, Graduate Officer: folkloregradinfo@mun.ca
Ann Marie Gushue, Administrative Secretary: agushue@mun.ca

Gender Studies
Dr. Sonja Boon, Graduate Officer: sboon@mun.ca
Audrey O'Neill, Administrative Secretary: aoneill@mun.ca

Geography
Dr. Carissa Brown, Graduate Officer: carissa.brown@mun.ca
Valarie James, Intermediate Secretary: vjames@mun.ca

History
Dr. Dominique Brégent-Heald, Graduate Officer: dbheald@mun.ca
Renée Clowe, Intermediate Secretary: rclowe@mun.ca

Humanities
Dr. Jay Foster, Graduate Officer: ajfoster@mun.ca

Human Kinetics & Recreation, School of
Dr. Anne-Marie Sullivan, Graduate Officer: am.sullivan@mun.ca
Peggy-Ann Parsons, Intermediate Clerk Stenographer: pparsons@mun.ca

Interdisciplinary PhD Program
Dr. Emmanuel Haven, Graduate Officer: ehaven@mun.ca 
Krista Shea, Program Secretary: kshea@mun.ca

Linguistics
Dr. Yvan Rose, Graduate Officer: yrose@mun.ca 
Peggy Nixon, Administrative Staff Specialist: pnixon@mun.ca

Marine Studies (FRM)
Mr. Geoff Coughlan, Graduate Officer: Geoff.Coughlan@mi.mun.ca
Dianne Hunt-Hall, Graduate Student Recruitment Officer: Dianne.Hunt-Hall@mi.mun.ca

Marine Studies (MSPM)
Mr. Geoff Coughlan, Graduate Officer: Geoff.Coughlan@mi.mun.ca
Dianne Hunt-Hall, Graduate Student Recruitment Officer: Dianne.Hunt-Hall@mi.mun.ca

Maritime Management
Mr. Philip Bulman, Graduate Officer: philip.bulman@mi.mun.ca
Dianne Hunt-Hall, Graduate Student Recruitment Officer: Dianne.Hunt-Hall@mi.mun.ca

Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Asokan Variyath, Graduate Officer: variyath@mun.ca
Dawn Harvey, Administrative Staff Specialist: dharvey@mun.ca

Medicine, Faculty of
Dr. Ann Dorward, Graduate Officer: rgs.assistantdean@med.mun.ca
Patricia Whelan, Intermediate Secretary: rgs@med.mun.ca

Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures (French)
Dr. Kodjo Attikpoé, Graduate Officer: kattikpoe@mun.ca 
Heather O'Brien, Secretary to the Department and Deputy Head: hobrien@mun.ca

Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures (German)
Dr. Maria Mayr, Graduate Officer: mmayr@mun.ca
Heather O'Brien, Secretary to the Department and Deputy Head: hobrien@mun.ca

Music, School of
Dr. Ian Sutherland, Graduate Officer: isutherland@mun.ca
Lisa McDonald, Senior Administrative Officer: lmcdonald@mun.ca

Nursing, School of
Dr. Donna Moralejo, Graduate Officer: mnson@mun.ca
Amy Fudge, Academic Program Assistant: mnson@mun.ca

Ocean Sciences, Department of
Dr. Chris Parrish, Graduate Officer: cparrish@mun.ca
Angela Skiffington, Departmental Secretary: angelas@mun.ca 

Ocean Technology (Ocean Mapping)
Mr. Paul Elliott, Graduate Officer: Paul.Elliott@mi.mun.ca

Occupational Health and Safety
Dr. Stephen Bornstein, Graduate Officer: sbornste@mun.ca

Pharmacy, School of
Dr. Hu Liu, Graduate Officer: hliu@mun.ca 
Kerry Park, Academic Program Assistant: k.park@mun.ca

Philosophy
Dr. Seamus O'Neill, Graduate Officer: sjoneill@mun.ca
Jill Robinson, Administrative Secretary: jillr@mun.ca

Physics & Physical Oceanography
Dr. Stephanie Curnoe, Graduate Officer: GradPhysicsInfo@mun.ca
Lisa O'Brien, Administrative Staff Specialist: leobrien@mun.ca

Political Science
Dr. Isabelle Côté, Graduate Officer: icote@mun.ca 
Audrey O'Neill, Administrative Secretary: aoneill@mun.ca

Psychology
Dr. Darcy Hallett, Graduate Officer: darcy@mun.ca
Jennifer Benson, Intermediate Secretary to the Department Head: psychsecretary@mun.ca

Religious Studies
Dr. Jennifer Selby, Graduate Officer: jselby@mun.ca 
Annette Sullivan, Administrative Secretary: acarter@mun.ca

Scientific Computing
Dr. Ronald Haynes, Graduate Officer: rhaynes@mun.ca
Nancy Bishop, Graduate Secretary: nlbishop@mun.ca

Social Work , School of (MSW)
Dr. Catherine de Boer, Graduate Officer: cdeboer@mun.ca 
Fran Greene, MSW Secretary: fmgreene@mun.ca

Social Work , School of (PhD)
Dr. Paul Banahene Adjei, Graduate Officer: pbanahene@mun.ca
Brenda Collins, Intermediate Secretary: bcollins@mun.ca

Sociology
Dr. Lisa-Jo van den Scott, Graduate Officer: lvandenscott@mun.ca 
Marina Thistle, Intermediate Secretary: marinat@mun.ca

Sustainable Aquaculture
(Marine Institute)
Mr. Cyr Couturier, Graduate Officer: cyr@mi.mun.ca
Nancy Bishop, Graduate Secretary: nlbishop@mun.ca

Technology Management
Mr. Paul Ryan, Graduate Officer: Paul.Ryan@mi.mun.ca 
Dianne Hunt-Hall, Graduate Student Recruitment Officer: Dianne.Hunt-Hall@mi.mun.ca

Theoretical Physics
Dr. Ivan Booth, Graduate Officer: ibooth@mun.ca
Nancy Bishop, Graduate Secretary: nlbishop@mun.ca

Transdisciplinary Sustainability (PhD)
Mr. Garrett Richards, Graduate Officer:  grichards@grenfell.mun.ca

Contact

School of Graduate Studies

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000