Graduate officers and admin staff

As a graduate student at Memorial, a number of faculty and staff members are here to help you at every step of your journey. Every academic unit has a graduate officer (usually a faculty member) and graduate administrative staff who oversee all aspects of graduate program administration, including admissions, course offerings, non-course requirements, student progress, fellowships budget, scholarships competitions, research exams, and graduation. You’ll find their contact information below. Please do not hesitate to reach out to either if you have questions or concerns. For more general inquiries, you can also contact the faculty and staff in the staff in the School of Graduate Studies.


Anthropology
Dr. Sandrine Jean, Graduate Officer: sjean@mun.ca
Tina Scott, Graduate Admin Staff: tscott@mun.ca

Applied Geomatics
Dr. Mumtaz Cheema, Graduate Officer: mcheema@grenfell.mun.ca
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Admin Staff: nsimmons@grenfell.mun.ca

Archaeology
Dr. Oscar Moro-Abadia, Graduate Officer: omoro@mun.ca
Fran Banfield, Graduate Admin Staff: fbanfield@mun.ca

Biochemistry
Dr. Robert Bertolo, Graduate Officer: rbertolo@mun.ca
Shannon Hayes, Graduate Admin Staff: shannonh@mun.ca

Biology
Dr. Edward Miller, Graduate Officer: tmiller@mun.ca
Tracey Bishop, Graduate Admin Staff: tbishop@mun.ca

Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences
Dr. Mumtaz Cheema, Graduate Officer: mcheema@grenfell.mun.ca
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Admin Staff: nsimmons@grenfell.mun.ca

Business Administration (MBA program), Faculty of
Dr. Joerg Evermann, Graduate Officer: busigrad@mun.ca 
Rosemary Hopkins, Graduate Admin Staff: rhopkins@mun.ca

Business Administration, Faculty of
Dr. Joerg Evermann, Graduate Officer: busigrad@mun.ca 
Donna Fitzgerald, Graduate Admin Staff: dfitzger@mun.ca

Chemistry
Dr. Christina Bottaro, Graduate Officer: cbottaro@mun.ca
Debbie Hickey, Graduate Admin Staff: debbieh@mun.ca

Classics
Dr. Brad Levett, Graduate Officer: blevett@mun.ca
Cathy Kieley, Graduate Admin Staff: ckieley@mun.ca

Cognitive and Behavioural Ecology Program
Dr. Eric VanderWal, Graduate Officer: evanderwal@mun.ca
Nancy Bishop, Graduate Admin Staff: nlbishop@mun.ca

Computer Science
Dr. Oscar Meruvia-Pastor, Graduate Officer: cs-gradapply@mun.ca
Barbara Hynes, Graduate Admin Staff: cs-gradapply@mun.ca 

Earth Sciences
Dr. Alison Leitch, Graduate Officer:  aleitch@mun.ca
Diane Guzzwell, Graduate Admin Staff: dguzzwell@mun.ca

Economics
Dr. Roberto Martinez-Espineira, Graduate Officer: rmartinezesp@mun.ca
Janine Cruz, Graduate Admin Staff: jcruz@mun.ca

Education, Faculty of
Dr. Rhonda Joy, Graduate Officer: rjoy@mun.ca
Tina Hunt, Graduate Admin Staff: tinah@mun.ca

Employment Relations Program (MER)
Dr. Lynn Gambin, Graduate Officer: lynn.gambin@mun.ca
Donna Fitzgerald, Graduate Admin Staff: dfitzger@mun.ca

Engineering & Applied Science, Faculty of
Dr. Bing Chen, Graduate Officer: bchen@mun.ca
Tina Dwyer, Graduate Admin Staff: tdwyer@mun.ca
Jinghua Nie, Manager for International Programs: jnie@mun.ca

English
Dr. Danine Farquharson, Graduate Officer: daninef@mun.ca
Brenda Smith, Graduate Admin Staff: brendas@mun.ca

Environmental Policy
Dr. Paul Foley, Graduate Officer: pfoley@grenfell.mun.ca
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Admin Staff: nsimmons@grenfell.mun.ca

Environmental Science
Dr. Evan Edinger, Graduate Officer: eedinger@mun.ca
Nancy Bishop, Graduate Admin Staff: nlbishop@mun.ca

Ethnomusicology
Dr. Meghan Forsyth, Graduate Officer: mforsyth@mun.ca
Nicole Strapp, Graduate Admin Staff: nstrapp@mun.ca

Fine Arts
Professor Ingrid Percy, Graduate Officer: ipercy@grenfell.mun.ca 
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Admin Staff: nsimmons@grenfell.mun.ca

Fisheries Science
Dr. Arnault LeBris, Graduate Officer: Arnault.LeBris@mi.mun.ca
Dianne Hunt-Hall, Graduate Admin Staff: Dianne.Hunt-Hall@mi.mun.ca

Folklore
Dr. Diane Tye, Graduate Officer:  dtye@mun.ca
Ann Marie Gushue, Graduate Admin Staff: agushue@mun.ca

Gender Studies
Dr. Jennifer Dyer, Graduate Officer: jdyer@mun.ca
Audrey O'Neill, Graduate Admin Staff: aoneill@mun.ca

Geography
Dr. Charles Mather, Graduate Officer: cmather@mun.ca
Valarie James, Graduate Admin Staff: vjames@mun.ca

History
Dr. Dominique Brégent-Heald, Graduate Officer: dbheald@mun.ca
Renée Clowe, Graduate Admin Staff: rclowe@mun.ca

Humanities
Dr. Jay Foster, Graduate Officer: ajfoster@mun.ca

Human Kinetics & Recreation, School of
Dr. Duane Button, Graduate Officer: hkrassociatedean@mun.ca
Peggy-Ann Parsons, Graduate Admin Staff: pparsons@mun.ca

Interdisciplinary PhD Program
Dr. Emmanuel Haven, Graduate Officer: ehaven@mun.ca
Krista Shea, Graduate Admin Staff: kshea@mun.ca

Linguistics
Dr. Yvan Rose, Graduate Officer: yrose@mun.ca 
Suzanne Browne, Graduate Admin Staff:  sbrowne@mun.ca

Marine Studies (FRM)
Mr. Geoff Coughlan, Graduate Officer: Geoff.Coughlan@mi.mun.ca
Dianne Hunt-Hall, Graduate Admin Staff: Dianne.Hunt-Hall@mi.mun.ca

Marine Studies (MSPM)
Mr. Geoff Coughlan, Graduate Officer: Geoff.Coughlan@mi.mun.ca
Dianne Hunt-Hall, Graduate Admin Staff: Dianne.Hunt-Hall@mi.mun.ca

Maritime Management
Mr. Philip Bulman, Graduate Officer: philip.bulman@mi.mun.ca
Dianne Hunt-Hall, Graduate Admin Staff: Dianne.Hunt-Hall@mi.mun.ca

Maritime Studies (MSc and PhD)
Dr. Heather Carnahan, Graduate Officer: hcarnahan@mun.ca
Nancy Smith, Graduate Admin Staff: Nancy.smith@mi.mun.ca

Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Asokan Variyath, Graduate Officer: variyath@mun.ca
Dawn Harvey, Graduate Admin Staff: dharvey@mun.ca

Medicine, Faculty of
Dr. Ann Dorward, Graduate Officer: rgs.gradassociatedean@med.mun.ca
Patricia Whelan, Graduate Admin Staff: rgs@med.mun.ca

Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures (French and German)
Dr. Halia Koo, Graduate Officer: hkoo@mun.ca  
Heather O'Brien, Graduate Admin Staff: hobrien@mun.ca

Music, School of
Dr. Karen Bulmer, Graduate Officer: kbulmer@mun.ca
Pamela Murphy, Graduate Admin Staff: pamela@mun.ca

Nursing, School of
Dr. Donna Moralejo, Graduate Officer: gradnursing@mun.ca
Amy Fudge, Graduate Admin Staff: gradnursing@mun.ca

Ocean Sciences, Department of
Dr. Ian Fleming, Graduate Officer: ifleming@mun.ca
Donna Inkpen, Graduate Admin Staff: dinkpen@mun.ca

Ocean Technology (Ocean Mapping)
Mr. Paul Elliott, Graduate Officer: Paul.Elliott@mi.mun.ca
Dianne Hunt, Graduate Admin Staff:  Dianne.Hunt-Hall@mi.mun.ca

Occupational Health and Safety
Dr. Kim Cullen, Graduate Officer: kcullen@mun.ca

Pharmacy, School of
Dr. Hu Liu, Graduate Officer: hliu@mun.ca 
Kerry Park, Graduate Admin Staff: k.park@mun.ca

Philosophy
Dr. Seamus O'Neill, Graduate Officer: sjoneill@mun.ca
Jill Robinson, Graduate Admin Staff: jillr@mun.ca

Physics & Physical Oceanography
Dr. Entcho Demirov, Graduate Officer: GradPhysicsInfo@mun.ca
Lisa O'Brien, Graduate Admin Staff: leobrien@mun.ca

Political Science
Dr. Amanda Bittner, Graduate Officer: abittner@mun.ca 
Audrey O'Neill, Graduate Admin Staff: aoneill@mun.ca

Psychology
Dr. Darcy Hallett, Graduate Officer: psycgradofficer@mun.ca
Jennifer Benson, Graduate Admin Staff: psychsecretary@mun.ca

Religious Studies
Dr. Jennifer Selby, Graduate Officer: jselby@mun.ca 
Annette Sullivan, Graduate Admin Staff: acarter@mun.ca

Scientific Computing
Dr. Ronald Haynes, Graduate Officer: rhaynes@mun.ca
Nancy Bishop, Graduate Admin Staff: nlbishop@mun.ca

Social Work , School of (PhD)
Dr. Paul Banahene Adjei, Graduate Officer (MSW and PhD): pbanahene@mun.ca
Fran Greene, Graduate Admin Staff (MSW): fmgreene@mun.ca
Brenda Collins, Graduate Admin Staff (PhD): adeanassistswk@mun.ca

Sociology
Dr. Rochelle Côté, Graduate Officer: socgradofficer@mun.ca
Marina Lethbridge, Graduate Admin Staff: marinal@mun.ca

Sustainable Aquaculture
(Marine Institute)
Mr. Cyr Couturier, Graduate Officer: cyr@mi.mun.ca
Nancy Bishop, Graduate Admin Staff: nlbishop@mun.ca

Technology Management
Mr. Paul Ryan, Graduate Officer: Paul.Ryan@mi.mun.ca 
Dianne Hunt-Hall, Graduate Admin Staff: Dianne.Hunt-Hall@mi.mun.ca

Theoretical Physics
Dr. Ivan Booth, Graduate Officer: ibooth@mun.ca
Nancy Bishop, Graduate Admin Staff: nlbishop@mun.ca

Transdisciplinary Sustainability (PhD)
Dr. Garrett Richards, Graduate Officer: grichards@grenfell.mun.ca

Contact

School of Graduate Studies

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000