Graduate officers

Graduate officers are faculty members assigned by academic units to oversee all aspects of graduate program management, including admissions, program requirements, and funding. If you are a prospective student seeking information about a graduate program, or a current student seeking academic advice, please contact the appropriate graduate officer listed below. For more general inquiries, please don’t hesitate to contact the staff in the School of Graduate Studies.


Anthropology
Dr. Lincoln Addison
Email: laddison@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-7818

Archaeology
Dr. Vaughan Grimes
Email: vgrimes@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8861

Aquaculture Program
(Marine Institute)
Mr. Cyr Couturier
Email: cyr@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-778-0609

Biochemistry
Dr. Robert Bertolo
Email: rbertolo@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-3595

Biology
Dr. Edward Miller
Email: tmiller@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4563

Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences
Dr. Mumtaz Cheema
Email: mcheema@grenfell.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-639-6533

Business Administration (MBA program), Faculty of
Dr. Rachelle  Shannahan
Email: rshannahan@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8522

Business Administration (Msc and PhD Management program), Faculty of
Dr. Rachelle Shannahan
Email: rshannahan@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8522

Chemistry
Dr. Christina Bottaro
Email: cbottaro@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8088

Classics
Dr. Kathryn Simonsen
Email: kathryns@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8531

Cognitive and Behavioural Ecology Program
Dr. David Wilson
Email: dwilson@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8291

Computer Science
Dr. Oscar Meruvia-Pastor
Email: cs-gradofficer@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8504

Earth Sciences
Ms. Diane Guzzwell
Email: dguzzwell@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-2334

Economics
Dr. Roberto Martinez-Espineira
Email: rmartinezesp@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-3676

Education, Faculty of
Dr. Rhonda Joy
Email: rjoy@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-6922

Employment Relations Program (MER)
Dr. Amy Warren
Email: awarren@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4008

Engineering & Applied Science, Faculty of
Dr. Faisal Khan
Email:  fikhan@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8900

English
Dr. Robert Ormsby
Email: rormsby@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8275

Environmental Policy
Dr. Paul Foley
Email: pfoley@grenfell.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-639-2771

Environmental Science
Dr. Evan Edinger
Email: eedinger@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-3233

Ethnomusicology
Dr. Methan Forsyth
Email: mforsyth@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4722

Fine Arts
Professor Cameron Forbes
Email: caforbes@grenfell.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-639-6558

Fisheries Science
Dr. Brett Favaro
Email: brett.favaro@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-778-0587

Folklore
Dr. Sarah Gordon
Email: s.gordon@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4457

Gender Studies
Dr. Sonja Boon
Email: sboon@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4617

Geography
Dr. Carissa Brown
Email: carissa.brown@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8981

History
Dr. Dominique Brégent-Heald
Email: dbheald@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8430

Humanities
Dr. Jay Foster
Email:  ajfoster@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-3732

Human Kinetics & Recreation, School of
Dr. Anne-Marie Sullivan
Email: am.sullivan@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4453

Interdisciplinary PhD Program
Dr. Emmanuel Haven
E-mail: ehaven@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-2069

Linguistics
Dr. Yvan Rose
Email: yrose@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-2332

Marine Studies (FRM)
Mr. Geoff Coughlan
Email: Geoff.Coughlan@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-778-0608

Marine Studies (MSPM)
Mr. Geoff Coughlan 
Email: Geoff.Coughlan@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-778-0568

Maritime Management
Mr. Philip Bulman
Email: philip.bulman@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-757-0701

Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Asokan Variyath
Email: variyath@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-6104

Medicine, Faculty of
Dr. Ann Dorward
Email: rgs.assistantdean@med.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-6337

Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures
French: Dr. Kodjo Attikpoé 
Email:  kattikpoe@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-8566

German: Dr. Maria Mayr
Email: mmayr@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8829

Music, School of
Dr. Ian Sutherland
Email: isutherland@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-7486

Nursing, School of
Dr. Donna Moralejo
Email: mnson@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-6972

Ocean Sciences, Department of
Dr. Chris Parrish
Email: cparrish@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-3225

Occupational Health and Safety
Dr. Stephen Bornstein
Email: sbornste@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-7245

Pharmacy, School of
Dr. Hu Liu
Email: hliu@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-2315

Philosophy
Dr. Seamus O'Neill
Email: sjoneill@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8332

Physics & Physical Oceanography
Dr. Stephanie Curnoe
Email: GradPhysicsInfo@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8888

Political Science
Dr. Amanda Bittner
Email: abittner@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8186

Psychology
Dr. Darcy Hallett
Email: darcy@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4871

Religious Studies
Dr. Jennifer Selby
Email: jselby@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-4046

Scientific Computing
Dr. Ronald Haynes
Email: rhaynes@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8825

Social Work , School of
MSW:  Dr. Catherine de Boer  
Email: cdeboer@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-2554

PhD:  Dr. Paul Banahene Adjei
Email: pbanahene@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4512

Sociology
Dr. Liam Swiss
Email: lswiss@mun.ca  
Phone: 1-709-864-4467

Technology Management
Dr. Christian Coronado
Email: Christian.Coronado@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-778-0790 

Theoretical Physics
Dr. Ivan Booth
Email:  ibooth@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4401

Contact

School of Graduate Studies

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000