Graduate officers

Graduate officers are faculty members assigned by academic units to oversee all aspects of graduate program management, including admissions, program requirements, and funding. If you are a prospective student seeking information about a graduate program, or a current student seeking academic advice, please contact the appropriate graduate officer listed below. For more general inquiries, please don’t hesitate to contact the staff in the School of Graduate Studies.


Anthropology
Dr. Lincoln Addison
Email: laddison@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-7818

Archaeology
Dr. Meghan Burchell
Email: mburchell@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8865

Aquaculture Program
(Marine Institute)
Mr. Cyr Couturier
Email: cyr@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-778-0609

Biochemistry
Dr. Robert Bertolo
Email: rbertolo@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-3595

Biology
Dr. Julissa Roncal
Email: jroncal@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-2241/2093

Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences
Dr. Mumtaz Cheema
Email: mcheema@grenfell.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-639-6533

Business Administration (MBA program), Faculty of
Dr. Rachelle  Shannahan
Email: rshannahan@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8522

Business Administration (Msc and PhD Management program), Faculty of
Dr. Rachelle Shannahan
Email: rshannahan@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8522

Chemistry
Dr. Christina Bottaro
Email: cbottaro@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8088

Classics
Dr. Kathryn Simonsen
Email: kathryns@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8531

Cognitive and Behavioural Ecology Program
Dr. Carolyn Walsh
Email: cwalsh@play.psych.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4738

Computer Science
Dr. Yuanzhu Peter Chen
Email: yzchen@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-6944

Earth Sciences
Ms. Michelle Miskell
Email: mmiskell@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4464

Economics
Dr. Roberto Martinez-Espineira
Email: rmartinezesp@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-3676

Education, Faculty of
Dr. Rhonda Joy
Email: rjoy@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-6922

Employment Relations Program (MER)
Dr. Amy Warren
Email: awarren@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4008

Engineering & Applied Science, Faculty of
Dr. Claude Daley
Email:  cdaley@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8900

English
Dr. Robert Ormsby
Email: rormsby@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8275

Environmental Policy
Professor Stephen Decker
Email: sdecker@grenfell.mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-639-6578

Environmental Science
Dr. Joe Wroblewski
Email: jwroblew@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-2410

Ethnomusicology
Dr. Kristina Szutor
Email: kszutor@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-3560

Fine Arts
Professor Cameron Forbes
Email: caforbes@grenfell.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-639-6558

Fisheries Science
Dr. Brett Favaro
Email: brett.favaro@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-778-0587

Folklore
Dr. Sarah Gordon
Email: s.gordon@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4457

Gender Studies
Dr. Sonja Boon
Email: sboon@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-3322

Geography
Dr. Carissa Brown
Email: carissa.brown@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8981

History
Dr. Neil Kennedy
Email: nkennedy@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-8968

Humanities
Dr. Jay Foster
Email:  ajfoster@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-3732

Human Kinetics & Recreation, School of
Dr. Anne-Marie Sullivan
Email: am.sullivan@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4453

Interdisciplinary PhD Program
Dr. Emmanuel Haven
E-mail: ehaven@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-2069

Linguistics
Dr. Yvan Rose
Email: yrose@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-2332

Marine Studies (FRM)
Mr. Geoff Coughlan
Email: Geoff.Coughlan@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-778-0608

Marine Studies (MSPM)
Mr. Geoff Coughlan 
Email: Geoff.Coughlan@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-778-0568

Maritime Management
Mr. Philip Bulman
Email: philip.bulman@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-757-0701

Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Tom Baird
Email: tbaird@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8080

Medicine, Faculty of
Dr. Jules Doré
Email: rgs.assistantdean@med.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-6337

Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures
French: Dr. Kodjo Attikpoé 
Email:  kattikpoe@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-8566
German: Dr. John Buffinga
Email: johnb@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8831

Music, School of
Dr. Ian Sutherland
Email: isutherland@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-7486

Nursing, School of
Dr. Donna Moralejo
Email: mnson@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-6972

Ocean Sciences, Department of
Dr. Chris Parrish
Email: cparrish@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-3225

Pharmacy, School of
Dr. Hu Liu
Email: hliu@mun.ca 
Phone: 1-709-864-2315

Philosophy
Dr. Seamus O'Neill
Email: sjoneill@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8332

Physics & Physical Oceanography
Dr. Stephanie Curnoe
Email: GradPhysicsInfo@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8888

Political Science
Dr. Amanda Bittner
Email: abittner@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8184

Psychology
Dr. Darcy Hallett
Email: darcy@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4871

Religious Studies
Dr. Jennifer Porter
Email: jporter@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-2469

Scientific Computing
Dr. Ronald Haynes
Email: rhaynes@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8825

Social Work (MSc and PhD), School of
Dr. Ross Klein
Email: rklein@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-8147

Sociology
Dr. Liam Swiss
Email: lswiss@mun.ca  
Phone: 1-709-864-4467

Technology Management
Dr. Christian Coronado
Email: Christian.Coronado@mi.mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-778-0790 

Theoretical Physics
Dr. Ivan Booth
Email:  ibooth@mun.ca
Phone: 1-709-864-4401

Contact

School of Graduate Studies

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000