Graduate officers and admin staff

As a graduate student at Memorial, a number of faculty and staff members are here to help you at every step of your journey.

Every academic unit has a graduate officer (usually a faculty member) and graduate administrative staff.

The grad officer and admin staff oversee all aspects of graduate program administration. This includes admissions, course offerings, non-course requirements, student progress, fellowships budget, scholarships competitions, research exams, and graduation.

Please do not hesitate to reach out to either if you have questions or concerns. For more general inquiries, you can also contact the faculty and staff in the School of Graduate Studies.


Anthropology
Alec Brookes, Graduate Officer: anthgradofficer@mun.ca
Tina Scott, Graduate Admin Staff: tscott@mun.ca

Applied Geomatics
Dr. ​Robert J. Scott, Graduate Officer:  rs4314@mun.ca
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Admin Staff: nadias@mun.ca

Applied Literary Arts
Dr. Shoshannah Ganz, Graduate Officer: sg0721@mun.ca
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Admin Staff: nadias@mun.ca

Archaeology
Dr. Oscar Moro-Abadia, Graduate Officer: omoro@mun.ca
Fran Banfield, Graduate Admin Staff: fbanfield@mun.ca

Arctic and Subarctic Futures 
Dr. Ashlee Cunsolo, Graduate Officer: ashlee.cunsolo@mun.ca

Artificial Intelligence
Dr. Adrian Fiech, Graduate Officer: MAI@mun.ca
Julie Bowering, Graduate Admin Staff: MAI@mun.ca

Biochemistry
Dr. Sherri Christian, Graduate Officer: sherri@mun.ca
Jessica Forrest, Graduate Admin Staff: biocoffice@mun.ca

Biology
Dr. Andrew Lang, Graduate Officer: aslang@mun.ca
Graduate Admin Staff: biogradsec@mun.ca

Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences
Dr. Mumtaz Cheema, Graduate Officer: macheema@mun.ca
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Admin Staff: nadias@mun.ca

Business Administration, Faculty of (MBA Program)
Dr. Rachelle Shannahan, Graduate Officer: rshannahan@mun.ca
Rosemary Hopkins, Graduate Admin Staff: rhopkins@mun.ca

Business Administration, Faculty of
Dr. Rachelle Shannahan, Graduate Officer: rshannahan@mun.ca
Donna Fitzgerald, Graduate Admin Staff: busigrad@mun.ca

Chemistry
Dr. Yuming Zhao, Graduate Officer: yuming@mun.ca
Debbie Hickey, Graduate Admin Staff: debbieh@mun.ca

Classics
Dr. Luke Roman, Graduate Officer: romanl@mun.ca  
Cathy Kieley, Graduate Admin Staff: ckieley@mun.ca

Cognitive and Behavioural Ecology Program
Dr. Pierre-Paul Bitton, Graduate Officer: pbitton@mun.ca
Marilyn Simms, Graduate Admin Staff: psych@mun.ca

Computer Science
Dr. Adrian Fiech, Graduate Officer: cs-gradofficer@mun.ca
Jennifer Rey-Goyeneche, Graduate Admin Staff: csgrad-secretary@mun.ca

Data Science
Dr. Asokan Mulayath Variyath, Graduate Officer: variyath@mun.ca
Allison Earle, Graduate Admin Staff: allisone@mun.ca

Earth Sciences
Dr. Alison Leitch, Graduate Officer:  aleitch@mun.ca
Leah Careen, Graduate Admin Staff: lcareen@mun.ca

Economics
Dr. Nahid Masoudi, Graduate Officer: econgrad@mun.ca
Crystal Crews, Graduate Admin Staff: ccrews@mun.ca

Education, Faculty of
Dr. Rhonda Joy, Graduate Officer: rjoy@mun.ca
Tina Hunt, Graduate Admin Staff: tinah@mun.ca

Employment Relations Program (MER)
Dr. Lynn Gambin, Graduate Officer: lynn.gambin@mun.ca
Donna Fitzgerald, Graduate Admin Staff: dfitzger@mun.ca

Engineering & Applied Science, Faculty of
Dr. Bing Chen, Graduate Officer: bchen@mun.ca
Sarah Teo, Manager of International Programs and Partnerships: tteo@mun.ca
Colleen Dalton, Graduate Admin Staff: colleen.dalton@mun.ca 
Tina Dwyer, Graduate Admin Staff: tdwyer@mun.ca

English
Dr. John Geck, Graduate Officer: englishgradofficer@mun.ca  
Brenda Smith, Graduate Admin Staff: brendas@mun.ca

Environmental Policy
Dr. Paul Foley, Graduate Officer: pfoley@mun.ca
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Admin Staff: nadias@mun.ca

Environmental Science
Dr. Tao Cheng, Graduate Officer: tcheng@mun.ca
Leah Careen, Graduate Admin Staff: lcareen@mun.ca

Ethnomusicology
Dr. Meghan Forsyth, Graduate Officer: mforsyth@mun.ca
Tangiene Poholko, Graduate Admin Staff: tpoholko@mun.ca

Fine Arts
Larry Weyand, Graduate Officer: lweyand@mun.ca
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Admin Staff: nadias@mun.ca

Fisheries Science
Dr. Jillian Westcott, Graduate Officer: Jillian.Westcott@mi.mun.ca  
Arlene Clarke, Graduate Admin Staff: Arlene.Clarke@mi.mun.ca

Folklore
Dr. Jillian Gould, Graduate Officer: jgould@mun.ca 
Susan Flynn, Graduate Admin Staff: susanf@mun.ca

Gender Studies
Dr. Carol-Lynne D'Arcangelis, Graduate Officer: carollynneda@mun.ca
Adi Khaitan, Graduate Admin Staff: akhaitan@mun.ca 

Geography
Dr. Nicholas Lynch, Graduate Officer: nicholasl@mun.ca
Valarie James, Graduate Admin Staff: vjames@mun.ca

History
Dr. Neil Kennedy, Graduate Officer: nkennedy@mun.ca
Pardeep Deol, Graduate Admin Staff: pkdeol@mun.ca

Human Kinetics & Recreation, School of
Dr. Duane Button, Graduate Officer: dbutton@mun.ca
Graduate Admin Staff: hkradvice@mun.ca

Humanities
Dr. Jay Foster, Graduate Officer: ajfoster@mun.ca
Adi Khaitan, Graduate Admin Staff: akhaitan@mun.ca

Interdisciplinary PhD Program
Dr. Emmanuel Haven, Graduate Officer: ehaven@mun.ca
Katrielle Edmond, Graduate Admin Staff: edm428@mun.ca

Linguistics
Dr. Yvan Rose, Graduate Officer: yrose@mun.ca
Wendy Roach, Graduate Admin Staff: linguist@mun.ca

Management (Grenfell Campus)
Janice Ryan, Graduate Officer: e63jlr@mun.ca
Janet Spurrell, Graduate Admin Staff: j.spurrell@mun.ca

Marine Studies (Aquaculture)
Dr. Jillian Westcott, Graduate Officer: Jillian.Westcott@mi.mun.ca  
Arlene Clarke, Graduate Admin Staff: Arlene.Clarke@mi.mun.ca 

Marine Studies (FRM)
Keith Rideout, Graduate Officer: Keith.Rideout@mi.mun.ca
Arlene Clarke, Graduate Admin Staff: Arlene.Clarke@mi.mun.ca 

Marine Studies (MSPM)
Dr. Jillian Westcott, Graduate Officer: Jillian.Westcott@mi.mun.ca
Arlene Clarke, Graduate Admin Staff: Arlene.Clarke@mi.mun.ca 

Maritime Management
Philip Bulman, Graduate Officer: philip.bulman@mi.mun.ca
Arlene Clarke, Graduate Admin Staff: Arlene.Clarke@mi.mun.ca  

Maritime Studies (MSc and PhD)
Dr. Steven Mallam, Graduate Officer: Steven.Mallam@mi.mun.ca
Arlene Clarke, Graduate Admin Staff: Arlene.Clarke@mi.mun.ca

Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Danny Dyer, Graduate Officer: dyer@mun.ca
Carolyn Evans, Graduate Admin Staff: mathgradsec@mun.ca

Medicine, Faculty of
Dr. Ann Dorward, Graduate Officer:  rgsassociatedean@mun.ca
Patricia Whelan, Graduate Admin Staff: rgs@mun.ca

Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures (French and German)
Dr. Kodjo Attikpoé, Graduate Officer: kattikpoe@mun.ca 
Heather O'Brien, Graduate Admin Staff: hobrien@mun.ca

Music, School of
Dr. Michelle Cheramy, Graduate Officer: mcheramy@mun.ca
Annie Corrigan, Graduate Admin Staff: acorrigan@mun.ca

Nursing, Faculty of
Dr. Karen Parsons, Graduate Officer: gradnursing@mun.ca
Amy Fudge, Graduate Admin Staff: gradnursing@mun.ca

Occupational Health and Safety
Dr. Kim Cullen, Graduate Officer: kcullen@mun.ca
Katrielle Edmond, Graduate Admin Staff: edm428@mun.ca

Ocean Sciences, Department of
Dr. Chris Parrish, Graduate Officer: cparrish@mun.ca
Donna Inkpen, Graduate Admin Staff: dinkpen@mun.ca

Ocean Technology (Ocean Mapping)
Paul Elliott, Graduate Officer: Paul.Elliott@mi.mun.ca
Arlene Clarke, Graduate Admin Staff: Arlene.Clarke@mi.mun.ca 

Pharmacy, School of
Dr. Noriko Daneshtalab, Graduate Officer: norikod@mun.ca
Kerry Park, Graduate Admin Staff: k.park@mun.ca

Philosophy
Dr. Seamus O'Neill, Graduate Officer: sjoneill@mun.ca
Jill Robinson, Graduate Admin Staff: jillr@mun.ca

Physics & Physical Oceanography
Dr. James LeBlanc, Graduate Officer: physics-go@mun.ca
Melissa Strong, Graduate Admin Staff: physics@mun.ca

Political Science
Dr. Luke Ashworth, Graduate Officer: grad.polisci@mun.ca
Juanita Lawrence, Graduate Admin Staff: jlawrenc@mun.ca

Psychology
Dr. Brent Snook, Graduate Officer: psycgradofficer@mun.ca
Marilyn Simms, Graduate Admin Staff: psych@mun.ca

Religious Studies
Dr. Jennifer Selby, Graduate Officer: jselby@mun.ca 
Annette Sullivan, Graduate Admin Staff: acarter@mun.ca

Scientific Computing
Dr. Ronald Haynes, Graduate Officer: rhaynes@mun.ca
Allison Earle, Graduate Admin Staff: allisone@mun.ca

Social Work, School of
Associate Dean of Graduate Programs (MSW and PhD): adgsscwk@mun.ca
Ashley Curnew, Student Services Coordinator (MSW and PhD): ahcurnew@mun.ca 
Jessica Canning, Graduate Admin Staff (MSW and PhD): jmcanning@mun.ca

Sociology
Dr. Lisa-Jo K. van den Scott, Graduate Officer: socgradofficer@mun.ca
Marina Lethbridge, Graduate Admin Staff: marinal@mun.ca

Sustainable Aquaculture
Cyr Couturier, Graduate Officer: cyr@mi.mun.ca 
JoAnn Greening, Graduate Admin Staff: jsgreening@mun.ca

Technology Management
Paul Ryan, Graduate Officer: Paul.Ryan@mi.mun.ca 
Arlene Clarke, Graduate Admin Staff: Arlene.Clarke@mi.mun.ca

Theoretical Physics
Dr. Ivan Booth, Graduate Officer: ibooth@mun.ca
Melissa Strong, Graduate Admin Staff: physics@mun.ca

Transdisciplinary Sustainability (PhD)
Dr. Garrett Richards, Graduate Officer: grichards@mun.ca
Nadia Simmons, Graduate Admin Staff: nadias@mun.ca