Major, Minor, Honours

Memorial University offers B.Sc. degree programs at the St. John’s campus and at Grenfell campus. The B.Sc. degree (general or honours) requires the completion of 120 credit hours (40 courses) and generally takes four years to complete.


Major programs for the B.Sc. are offered in all departments in the Faculty of Science, as well as in the Departments of Economics and Geography. Normally the major is chosen at the end of first year. You must choose a major.


A minor is a secondary field of study, and requires completion of at least eight courses in that subject area. A student may elect to study an optional minor for their B.Sc. program in any of the Faculty of Science major programs. Other optional minors may be chosen from the faculties of Business Administration; Engineering and Applied Science (for chemistry majors) or Humanities and Social Sciences; or in international business; music and culture; music history; or sustainable fisheries and fisheries ecology.

In the Faculty of Science, a minor is optional.

Honours Degree

The bachelor of science honours (B.Sc. Hons.) is available in each of the major subject areas. An honours degree requires study at an advanced level and demands a high quality of work throughout the program. Honours students engage in research and gain hands-on experience that is excellent preparation for graduate work or careers in their discipline. See the undergraduate officer in the department concerned if you have questions about completing an Honours degree.

Joint Programs

A student may elect to study a joint major program or a joint honours program. More than 30 joint programs are described in the Faculty of Science section of the University Calendar, but many other combinations are arranged for individual students. Students interested in a joint program should contact the departments involved for advice before declaring a major.