Contractual and Per-Course Instructors


Dr. Craig Cramm

Ph.D (Dominican University College)

Office: AA-3105
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email:cgcramm@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization:

  • Environmental Philosophy
  • French Philosophy

Dr. Raymond Critch 

Ph.D. (Edinburgh)

Office: AA-3101
Telephone: (709) 570-0583/(709) 864-8336
Email: n85rgc@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Ethics, Metaethics, Philosophy of Law, Political Philosophy.


Dr. Jay Foster

Coordinator, M.Phil. in Humanities

Ph.D (Toronto)

Office: AA-3099
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: ajfoster@mun.ca
Website:Link

Areas of Specialization:

  • Philosophy of Science
  • Ontology

Dr. Stephen Gardner

Ph.D (Ottawa)

Office: AA-3101
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: sgardner@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization:

  • Logic
  • Philosophy of Mathematics
  • The 20th Century Anglo-American tradition
  • Metaphysics
  • Philosophy of Biology and Bioethics


Bryan Heystee 

Office: AA-3098
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: bheystee@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Platonism, Technology, Critiques of Modernity, George Grant


Elizabeth Hill 

Office: AA-3098
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: eahill@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Ancient philosophy, Plato, Plato's Erotic Dialogues, Philosophy of Sex and Gender


Jenina MacGillivray

Office: AA-3101
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: jeninam@mun.ca


Areas of Specialization:

  • Philosophy of Film

Dr. Aaron O'Brien

Ph.D. (Ottawa)

Office: AA-3099
Telephone: (709) 864-3558
Email: aaron.obrien@mun.ca


Areas of Specialization:

  • Nietzsche
  • Ethics
  • Environmental Philosophy


Benedikt Rottenecker

Office: AA-3098
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: benedikt.rottenecker@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Ancient Philosophy, Neoplatonism, Platonic and Platonizing Accounts of the Soul


Gil Shalev

Ph.D. Candidate (Memorial)

Office: AA-3102
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: gshalev@mun.ca


Areas of Specialization:

  • Early Modern Philosophy
  • Cartesian Philosophy

Contact

Department of Philosophy

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000