Lab Members

Past Honours students:

Pamela Burke (2010)

Thesis: Burrowing preference of macrofauna based on sediment composition in the Georges Basin area, Gulf of Maine

Jason Laurich (NSERC USRA recipient, 2011-2012)

Thesis: Seasonal variations in symbiont abundance in Thyasirids from Bonne Bay, NL

Samantha Green (2011 - 2012)

Thesis: Symbionts in wood-boring bivalves from Bonne Bay, NL

Andrew Bullen (2011-2012)

Thesis: Phylotype variation in symbionts of Thyasira gouldi from Bonne Bay, NL

Alexander Elliott (2012-2013)

Thesis: Detection of potentially free-living forms of Thyasira aff. gouldi symbionts

Andrew Melanson (2013)

Thesis: Impact of the polychaete Marenzelleria viridis on the distribution and abundance of photosynthetic pigments in intertidal sediments at Indian Pond, Newfoundland

Jaclyn Aubin (NSERC USRA recipient, 2014-2015)

Thesis: Iron accumulation in tissues of symbiotic thyasirids during long-term maintenance in aquaria

Chantel Boone (SURA recipient, 2015)

Thesis: Lipid droplets in the gut epithelium of an annelid from aquaculture sites and whale bones

Natasha Collins (winner of 2nd place Poster award, Science Atlantic Aquaculture & Fisheries and Biology Conference, 2015-2016)

Thesis: Investigation of growth rates in thyasirid bivalves

Berit Sellars (co-supervised by Tom Chapman, 2015-2016)

Thesis: Investigation of putative bacterial symbionts in thrips

France Liboiron (2016)

Thesis: Symbiont diversity in Thyasira cf. gouldi from Bonne Bay, Newfoundland

Ethan Armstrong (2016-2017)

Thesis: Temporal changes in the spatial distribution of organic enrichment indicators at aquaculture sites in Newfoundland

Silas Jones (NSERC USRA recipient, 2017-2018)

Thesis: Bacteria along the lining of thyasirid burrows

Julian Johnson (2017-2018)

Thesis: Minerals along the lining of thyasirid burrows

Katrine Petritchenko (2017-2018)

Thesis: Investigation of the reproductive cycle of thyasirids from Bonne Bay, Newfoundland

Megan Warren (co-supervised by Amanda Bates; 2018-2019)

Thesis: Reproduction in the deep-sea hydrothermal vent snail Alviniconcha hessleri

Kaitlyn Tobin (2020-2021)

Thesis: Identifying cryptic thyasirid clams based on valve shape using Elliptical Fourier Analysis

Past MSc students:

Rebecca Batstone (RDC Ocean Industries Student Research Awards Recipient, 2010-2012)

Thesis: The evolution of thyasirid clams (Bivalvia:Thyasiridae) from a subarctic fjord in Bonne Bay, Newfoundland

Joe Mersereau (co-supervised with Dounia Hamoutene, 2011-2014)

Thesis: Spatio-temporal changes in the distribution of benthic organisms at finfish farm sites on the south coast of Newfoundland

Jason Laurich (NSERC Canada Graduate Scholarship recipient, 2012-2014)

Thesis: Dynamics of symbiont populations in the facultative chemosymbioses of thyasirid bivalves

Samantha Green (co-supervised by Duncan McIlroy, 2013-2016)

Thesis: The diet and influence of the spionid polychaete Marenzelleria on benthic communities in coastal Newfoundland

Heather Zanzerl (2012-2014)

Thesis: The burrowing behaviour and diet of thyasirid bivalves from Bonne Bay, Newfoundland

Robyn Knight (RDC Ocean Industries Student Research Award, 2016-2020)

Thesis: Sediments and bacteria beneath salmon aquaculture farms in Newfoundland

Brad Weiler (2017-2019)

Thesis: The microbiome of deep-sea corals from the Gulf of Maine

Ethan Armstrong (co-supervised by Dounia Hamoutene, 2017-2019)

Thesis: Application of machine learning to improve benthic monitoring at aquaculture sites

Past PhD students:

Bonita McCuaig (co-supervised by Lourdes Pena-Castillo, NSERC PGS fellow, AceNET fellow 2012-2019)

Thesis: The independent partnership of Thyasira cf. gouldi and its sulfur oxidizing symbiont

Joost Verhoeven (2014-2019)

Thesis: Microbiome exploration of deep-sea Cladorhizidae sponges

Current Honours student:

Gabrielle Large (2021)

Thesis: Iridoviruses in deep sea carnivorous sponges

Current MSc student:

Rachelle Dove (NSERC USRA recipient, Terra Nova Aboriginal Student Masters Scholarship recipient, 2016-)

Thesis: Thyasirid diversity in the Canadian Arctic

Current PhD students:

Joany Marino-Coronado (co-supervised by Amy Hurford, 2016-)

Thesis: Modelling energy budgets and population dynamics in thyasirid bivalves

Nova Hanson (co-supervised by Amanda Bates, 2020-)

Thesis: energy budgets and population dynamics in the hydrothermal vent snail Alviniconcha hessleri

Past postdoctoral fellows:

Dr. Flora Salvo (2011-2014)

Dr. Joost Verhoeven (MITACS Accelerate Fellow; 2019-2021)