Faculty of Science celebrates academic achievement and service

Oct 3rd, 2013

Kelly Foss

Faculty of Science celebrates academic achievement and service

The Faculty of Science celebrated academic achievement and service last week with the annual Dean’s Awards Ceremony and reception.

At the event, Dr. Mark Abrahams, dean of Science, named 254 students to the Dean’s List.

“Only the top 10 per cent of students in the Faculty of Science are admitted to the Dean's List,” said Dr. Andy Foster, associate dean (undergraduate and administration). “So it's very competitive and making it is a significant achievement. Depending on the year, a student would need on average 82 or 83 per cent to be admitted to the Dean’s List.”

The Dean’s Book Prize was awarded on the basis of outstanding academic achievement to the top student in each department offering a B.Sc. program. The recipients included Robert Deering, Geography; Nathaniel Drover, Physics & Physical Oceanography; Devin Grant, Mathematics & Statistics; Megan Mews, Biology; Olajinde Ogunwale, Economics; Samantha Pomroy, Earth Sciences; Jennifer Smith, Chemistry; Shannon Waye, Psychology and Sara Young, Biochemistry.

Dr. David Wardlaw, vice president (academic) and provost for Memorial University was present to present the Lou Visentin Award. Named for a former Dean of Science, the award recognizes those students who have remained on the dean’s list for four years.

“I'm always amazed that students can be on the dean's list every year of their program,” said Dr. Foster. “This year we have 22 students in total on this list and out of those, 10 have averages of over 90 per cent for all four which is a phenomenal achievement.

The Visentin Award winners include Lisa Bacque, Biochemistry; Travis Barron, Biology; Shane Belbin, Geography; Jessica Besaw, Mathematics & Statistics/Chemistry; Sarah Bourgeois, Mathematics and Statistics; Tyler Brown, Biology; Allison Chaytor, Psychology/Biology; Christopher Dominic, Biochemistry; Jessica Dwyer, Psychology/Biology; Victoria Grandy, Chemistry/Physics & Physical Oceanography; Kevin Granville, Mathematics & Statistics; Chao Han, Mathematics & Statistics; Nathan King, Mathematics & Statistics/Physics & Physical Oceanography; Jonathan Lomond, Mathematics & Statistics; Jillian McCarthy, Psychology; Jonathan Porter, Physics & Physical Oceanography; Anna Snow, Psychoogy; Beibei Song, Psychology/Biochemistry; Sachin Waghmare, Biochemistry; Jake Wells, Physics & Physical Oceanography; Desmond Whalen, Psychology/Biology.

Dr. Abrahams also took the time to recognize Danny Boyce, manager of the Dr. Joe Brown Aquatic Research Facility (JBARB), by presenting him with the Dean of Science Distinguished Service Award.

“Danny began his career at the Ocean Sciences Centre as a research assistant in 1991 and by 1999 had gained sufficient training and knowledge regarding aquaculture to take on the responsibility for managing the newly constructed Dr. Joe Brown Aquatic Research Facility (JBARB),” he said. “This was a formidable challenge as the facility at the time was nothing more than an empty shell with no clear mandate, no business plan, and no sustainable funding. Today, thanks to Danny, the JBARB is a world-class facility designed to support research, training, pre-commercial production, and commercial trials for the marine aquaculture industry.”

“Danny’s leadership and vision has been pivotal in establishing the Faculty of Science and Memorial as a top university in Canada in the areas of aquaculture teaching and education, research and development. Danny’s contributions to the Faculty of Science and Memorial University go well beyond normal expectations and thus well deserving of The Distinguished Service Award.”

The ceremony also saw three faculty members of Memorial University inducted into the Science Atlantic Hall of Fame. Executive director Lois Whitehead presented the awards, which recognize exemplary and outstanding service to Science Atlantic, to Dr. Edgar Goodaire, Mathematics and Statistics; Frederick Smith, Dean of Science Office and Cyr Couturier, Marine Institute.


Ocean Sciences

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000