First Announcement

Fields Institute for Research in Mathematical Sciences
Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Atlantic Algebra Centre (AAC)
Network of Ontario Lie Theorists (NOLT)

International Workshop
Hopf Algebras, Algebraic Groups and Related Structures

June 13-17, 2016
Memorial University of Newfoundland
St John’s, NL, Canada

First Announcement

The workshop will focus on the interrelations and various connections between the theory of Hopf algebras (finite generation of cohomology, Nichols algebras, invariant theory) and the theory of linear algebraic groups (exceptional groups, torsors, cohomological invariants, central simple algebras) as well as on its applications to representation theory, graded algebras, super-algebras and quantum groups. We hope that the interaction of researchers during the meeting will have a substantial impact on the mutual understanding of the results, techniques and present problems in these areas.

The workshop is a joint activity between the Atlantic Algebra Centre and the Network of Ontario Lie Theorists. The organizing committee includes Yuri Bahturin (AAC), Mikhail Kochetov (AAC), Yorck Sommerhäuser (AAC) and Kirill Zaynullin (NOLT).

We expect about 30-40 participants in total, including graduate students and postdoctoral fellows - primarily associated with AAC and NOLT, but also from other universities in Canada and abroad. We will make lecture notes available to anyone interested on AAC web site and will consider the possibility of publishing proceedings of the workshop in a mathematical journal, as we did for some of the previous workshops held by AAC.

The list of confirmed speakers includes

1. Nicolás Andruskiewitsch (Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina)
2. Pavel Etingof (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
3. Nikita Karpenko (University of Alberta, Canada)
4. Vladislav Kharchenko (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico)
5. Alexander Merkurjev (University of California at Los Angeles, USA)
6. Susan Montgomery (University of Southern California, USA)
7. Dmitri Nikshych (University of New Hampshire, USA)
8. Victor Ostrik (University of Oregon, USA)
9. Hans-Jürgen Schneider (University of Munich, Germany)

One of the days during the workshop will be devoted to informal discussions and tourist activities.

If you wish to attend, please write at with HAAG16 in the subject line. Please provide your name, affiliation, the topic of your talk(s), if you wish or if you are invited to speak. The deadline for registration is May 25, 2016.