The Sustainability Office

The Sustainability Office, a unit of the Department of Facilities Management, was created in January 2007, with the hiring of the University’s first Sustainability Co-ordinator.

The Sustainability Co-ordinator’s role is to:

  • work with Memorial’s University Sustainability Committee (the USC)
  • determine priorities for sustainability initiatives
  • develop, promote and implement sustainability initiatives
  • act as point of contact for inquiries and input from staff, faculty and students
  • compile information on current sustainability initiatives at MUN; and
  • research sustainability issues and potential initiatives.

The Advisory Committee on Sustainability (ACS) was formed in April 2007 to act as a link between the university community and the sustainability co-ordinator. It was comprised of four subcommittees that represented various genres of sustainability. Each subcommittee was headed by a chair that sat on the main committee as well.

The ACS provided advice and recommendations to the sustainability co-ordinator, and helped determine priorities and implement sustainability initiatives.

In December 2012, the Vice-Presidents' Council (VPC) established a new committee to replace the ACS called the University Sustainability Committee (USC). The USC is a strategic advisory group reporting to the Vice-Presidents’ Council (VPC), with representatives from senior university administration and students’ unions. The Committee will integrate sustainable practices into the governance and operations of the University through a high level, university-wide approach.


Memorial University Sustainability Office
Location: FM2017
Phone: 864-2637



230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000