Faculty


Professor Emerita


Lan GienGien, Lan., B.Sc.N. Loretta Heights College, M.Ed.N. Columbia, PhD London

lgien@mun.ca

Expertise: Women’s health; primary health care; population health; intercultural health research; program evaluation


LeFort Sandra., BA Trent, MN Memorial, PhD McGillSandra LeFort

slefort@mun.ca

Expertise: Self-care/self-management of chronic pain; pain assessment and management; knowledge exchange and translation; advanced practice nursing roles; ethical practice issues; telehomecare; evaluation


Dr. Shirley Solberg

Solberg, Shirley., BN, MN Memorial, PhD University of Alberta

ssolberg@mun.ca

Expertise: Women’s health; occupational health; chronic pain conditions associated with work; social inequality and social determinants of health; qualitative research methodologies; and ethics of publication


Chris Way

Way, Christine., BN, BA Memorial, M.Sc(A) McGill, PhD Virginia;

Winner of President's Award for Distinguished Teaching 1999

cway@mun.ca

Expertise: End-stage renal disease and life on dialysis; impact of healthcare reforms on provider groups; evaluation of programs for women at risk during pregnancy; chronic illnesses


Professors


Dr. Gaudine

Gaudine, Alice., B.Sc. (Hons) Mount Allison, M.Sc. (A) McGill, PhD Concordia

agaudine@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-4549
Room: H2926

Expertise: Nursing leadership; nurse's ethical conflicts; employee absenteeism; nurses' work life


Kearney, Anne., BN Memorial, M.H.Sc. Toronto, PhD MemorialAnne Kearney

akearney@mun.ca

Tel:(709) 864-2270
Room: H2955

Expertise: Breast screening effectiveness particularly related to mammography screening; primary health care reform; quality of nurses' worklife including performance of non-nursing duties; nursing skill mix; job satisfaction.


Dr. Sandy Mac

MacDonald, Sandra., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Walden

Winner of the President's Award for Distinguished Teaching 2011

smacdon@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-2539
Room: H3467

Expertise: Community health needs and resources assessment; program evaluation; critical care nursing; nursing management, leadership qualities and styles


Moralejo, Donna., BA, B.Sc., M.Sc.(A) McGill, PhD CalgaryDonna M

moralejo@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3603
Room: ED-5004C

Expertise: Infection control, surveillance; population/public health; evidence-based practice


Dr. Karen Parsons

Parsons, Karen., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Rush

Winner of the President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching 2014

karenp@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-2305
Room: H2959

Expertise: Healthy aging; memory impairment in the older adult; teaching approaches to learning and critical thinking especially in the care of the older adult; Heideggerian hermeneutic phenomenology

Click here to find out more about Dr. Parsons' current program of research.


Dr. Sandra Small

 Small, Sandra., BN Memorial, M.Sc.N. Toronto, PhD Alberta

ssmall@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-8112
Room: H3475

Expertise: Respiratory health, including aspects of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; asthma and youth smoking; parenting children about risk factors.

Find out more about Dr. Small's current program of research.


Associate Professors


Brennan-Hunter, Andrea., BSc.N. St. Francis Xavier, MN. DAndrea Brennan-Hunteralhousie

brennan@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-4626
Room: H3470

Expertise: Pain in children; parental advocacy; intervention strategies for helping children manage procedures; adolescent smoking; student progress in nursing


Lukewich, Julia, BNSc., MN, PhD Queen'sDr. Julia Lukewich

jlukewich@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-8211
Room: H2953

Expertise: Primary care, nursing roles, organizational attributes, chronic disease management, type 2 diabetes, health outcomes, quantitative research methods, systematic reviews, secondary data analysis

Click here to find out more about Dr. Lukewich's current program of research.


Joy Maddigan

Maddigan, Joy., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Calgary

jmaddigan@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3606
Room: ED-5004E

Expertise: Psychiatric mental health nursing; early psychosis intervention; families and health; advancing nursing practice; mixed methods research

Click here to find out more about her current program of research.


 

Dr. Meadus

Meadus, Robert., BN, B. Voc.Ed. Memorial, M.Sc.(N). Toronto, PhD, Barry

meadusr@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-7114
Room: H3465

Expertise:Families and mental health; coping with mental health issues; men in nursing; children living with mentally-ill parents; adolescents with mood disorders


Cindy Murray

 Murray, Cindy., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Alberta

cindym@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3608
Room: ED-5004F

Expertise: Community and population health; health promotion and chronic disease prevention; determinants of health; health policy; health inequities; Indigenous peoples and health; healthy child development; women's health; body weight and health; fetal programming of chronic diseases; quantitative, qualitative, and interdisciplinary research

Click here to find out more about her current program of research.   


April Pike19

Pike, April., BN, MN, PhD Memorial Dr. April Pike  

Winner of the President's Award for Exceptional Community Service, 2016

aprilpike@mun.ca

Tel:709-864-7453

Room: H2951

Expertise: Genetics; sociocultural theories of risk; community health; cardiovascular disease; organ procurement; qualitative research methods; grounded theory; phenomenology

Click here to find out more about Dr. Pike's current program of research.


Caroline P

Porr. Caroline., BScN McMaster, MN Calgary, PhD Alberta

Recipient of the 2017 President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching

cporr@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-8310
Room: H3459

Expertise: Primary health care philosophy and principles; relational practice; interpersonal competencies; pedagogy; health professional education innovation; qualitative inquiry; inductive theory generation; systematic reviews

Click here to find out more about Dr. Porr's current program of research.


Assistant Professors


Jill Bruneau

Bruneau, Jill, BN, MHSc (University of Toronto), PhD Memorial 

jill.bruneau@mun.ca

Tel: 864-8425

Room:ED5004C

Expertise and areas of interest: Advanced Practice Nursing/Nurse Practitioner; Cardiovascular Health, Health Promotion; Risk Factor Management, special interest in hypertension management; motivational interviewing; and mixed methods research.


Mary Bursey

Bursey, Mary., BN, Memorial, M.Sc.(N). Toronto

Tel: 709-864-4552mbursey@mun.ca

Room: H3477

Expertise: Cardiovascular nursing; gerontology; patient safety


Cassell, Lindsey, BN, MemorialMN, South Queensland, DNP (PhD), Grand Canyon 

lindsey.cassell@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-8425
Room: H2936


Renee C 2015

Crossman, Renee, BN, MN, MemorialPhD(c), University of Alberta 

crossman@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-4459
Room: H3473


Karen Dobbin Williams

Dobbin-Williams, Karen., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Calgary

kdobbinw@mun.ca

Room: H3461Tel: 709-864-4488


Expertise: Food allergies and anaphylaxis; Gadamerian philosophical hermeneutics; chronic illness and diabetes; maternal theory; teenagers; surgical site infection risk factors in vascular; colorectal and cardiac bypass graft surgery; relational ethics


Howard, Jennifer., BScN, PhD (c) Western,Jennifer Howard

Expertise: Art-based research, teaching, learning and interventions;
neurodegenerative disorders (i.e. multiple sclerosis and dementia), gerontological health, community and family health. Mixed-methods in nursing research; statistical analysis, research methodologies, phenomenology and qualitative research in nursing


Kimberly JarvisJarvis, Kimberly., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Alberta

kimberly.jarvis@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-2746

Room: H2936

Expertise: Dr. Jarvis' research focuses on the intersection of culturally-entangled practices and gendered roles that have marginalizing consequences for women – particularly upon a woman’s sexual and reproductive health. She endeavors to understand, measure and evaluate these issues so to effect change in health-care practice and social policy, conducting her research in a Canadian and sub Saharan African context employing critical qualitative approaches.


Paula Kelly

Kelly, Paula., BN U Victoria ’98 MSN UBC ‘02, PhD (c)

paulak@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-4763
Room: H3472

Expertise: Nurses’ work, nursing knowledge, women’s health, qualitative research methods


Snow, Nicole., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Alberta, RN, CPMHN(C)Nicole Snow

nicole.snow@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3607
Room: ED-5004D

Expertise: Exploring dimensions of relationships and engagement (primarily in mental health contexts); ethical considerations inherent in professional care; the concept of professionalism and its praxis; interprofessional education and practice.

Dr. Richard Marceau Fogo Island Fellow 2017-18

Member Scholar, International Institute for Qualitative Methodology, University of Alberta

Click here to find out more about Dr. Snow's current program of research.


Kathleen Stevens

Stevens, Kathleen.,  BN, MN, PhD Memorial

kathleen.stevens@mun.ca

Tel: 864-7100

Room:H2932

Expertise: Foot health; populations at risk for foot health problems such as individuals with diabetes, peripheral vascular disease, arthritis, and the elderly; self-management; and mixed methods research


Clinical Coordinator


Watkins, Andrea.,BN Memorial, MN Charles Sturt University (Australia) Andrea Watkins

andrea.watkins@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-8507
Room: H3471


 On Leave


Creina Twomey

Twomey, C., BN, MN Memorial, PhD  

ctwomey@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-6128
Room: H3457

Expertise: Psychosocial adaptation to chronic illness; quality of life; psychometrics; clinical epidemiology and community health; community health needs and resources; men in nursing


 

Dawe, Doreen., BN, M.Ed. Memorial, MSc.N., Toronto

 


Lecturers 


Baldwin, Daisy

ddd077@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Belbin, Dee Anne

g32dab@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8932
Room: H3476


Ruth Chandran

Chandran, Ruth              

rchandran@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8855
Room: H3474

 


Collett, KristaKrsta C

kcollett@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2596
Room: H2942

 


 

Crane, AshleyAshley Crane

achealey@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-3458
Room: H3476


 

Kille-Marino, Joyce

jkmarino@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2716
Room: H3478


 

Krista King

King, Krista

krista.king@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-4618
Room: H3478

 


 

Nicole Lewis-Power

Lewis-Power, Nicole

nicolelewis@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2958
Room: H2946

 


 

Mullett, Karen


Ann Noseworthy

Noseworthy, Ann

danoseworthy@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8787
Room: H3464


Saxena, Salil

ss3316@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2762
Room: H3478


Lynn VB

Vivian-Book, Lynn

lvivianbook@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-4069
Room: H2944


 

Per Semester/Per Course Appointment


Bonia, Alice

p46amb@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Careen, Vivian

vivian.careen@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Sheilagh Dale

Dale, Sheilagh

sheilagh.dale@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8823
Room: H2950


Haynes, Chantille

v43cihb@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Isaacs, Savannah

d46sci@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Marshall, Donna

donna.marshall@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Nicholas, Juliette

julie.nicholas@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Rowe, Leona

Smith, Deanne

s62dms@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Stevenson, Michelle

u39mms@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 Honorary Doctorate Degree


 Matthews, M.K., BN, MN, LLD Memorial

matthews@mun.ca

ƒƒ

Contact

Faculty of Nursing

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000