Faculty


Professor Emerita


Lan GienGien, Lan., B.Sc.N. Loretta Heights College, M.Ed.N. Columbia, PhD London

Tel:  739-5799 (R)

lgien@mun.ca

Expertise: Women’s health; primary health care; population health; intercultural health research; program evaluation

 


LeFort Sandra., BA Trent, MN Memorial, PhD McGillSandra LeFort

slefort@mun.ca

Expertise: Self-care/self-management of chronic pain; pain assessment and management; knowledge exchange and translation; advanced practice nursing roles; ethical practice issues; telehomecare; evaluation

 


Solberg, Shirley., BN, MN Memorial, PhD University of Alberta

Dr. Shirley Solberg

ssolberg@mun.ca

Expertise: Women’s health; occupational health; chronic pain conditions associated with work; social inequality and social determinants of health; qualitative research methodologies; and ethics of publication

 


Professors


Gaudine, Alice., B.Sc. (Hons) Mount Allison, M.Sc. (A) McGill, PhD Concordia

Dr. Gaudine

agaudine@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-4549
Room: H2926

Expertise: Nursing leadership; nurse's ethical conflicts; employee absenteeism; nurses' work life


Kearney, Anne., BN Memorial, M.H.Sc. Toronto, PhD MemorAnne Kearneyial

akearney@mun.ca

Tel:(709) 864-2270
Room: H2955

Expertise: Breast screening effectiveness particularly related to mammography screening; primary health care reform; quality of nurses' worklife including performance of non-nursing duties; nursing skill mix; job satisfaction.


MacDonald, Sandra., BN, MN Memorial, PhD WaldenDr. Sandy Mac

Winner of the President's Award for Distinguished Teaching 2011

smacdon@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-2539
Room: H3467

Expertise: Community health needs and resources assessment; program evaluation; critical care nursing; nursing management, leadership qualities and styles


Moralejo, Donna., BA, B.Sc., M.Sc.(A) McGill, PhD CalgaryDonna M

moralejo@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3603
Room: ED-5004C

Expertise: Infection control, surveillance; population/public health; evidence-based practice


 

Small, Sandra., BN Memorial, M.Sc.N. Toronto, PhD Alberta

ssmall@mun.caDr. Sandra Small

Tel: 709-864-8112
Room: H3475

Expertise: Respiratory health, including aspects of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; asthma and youth smoking; parenting children about risk factors.

Find out more about Dr. Small's current program of research.

 


 

Way, Christine., (Retired) BN, BA Memorial, M.Sc(A) McGill, PhD Virginia;

Winner of President's Award for Distinguished Teaching 1999

cway@mun.ca

Room: H2951

Expertise: End-stage renal disease and life on dialysis; impact of healthcare reforms on provider groups; evaluation of programs for women at risk during pregnancy; chronic illnesses


Associate Professors


Brennan-Hunter, Andrea., BSc.N. St. Francis Xavier, MN DAndrea Brennan-Hunteralhousie

brennan@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-4626
Room: H3470

Expertise: Pain in children; parental advocacy; intervention strategies for helping children manage procedures; adolescent smoking; student progress in nursing


Dr. Meadus

 

Meadus, Robert., BN, B. Voc.Ed. Memorial, M.Sc.(N). Toronto, PhD, Barry

meadusr@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-7114
Room: H3465

Expertise:Families and mental health; coping with mental health issues; men in nursing; children living with mentally-ill parents; adolescents with mood disorders


 

Murray, Cindy., BN, MN Memorial, PhD AlbertaCindy Murray

cindym@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3608
Room: ED-5004F

Expertise: Community and population health; health promotion and chronic disease prevention; determinants of health; health policy; health inequities; Indigenous peoples and health; healthy child development; women's health; body weight and health; fetal programming of chronic diseases; quantitative, qualitative, and interdisciplinary research

Click here to find out more about her current program of research.   


Parsons, Karen., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Rush

Winner of the President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching 2014Karen Parsons

karenp@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-2305
Room: H2959

Expertise: Healthy aging; memory impairment in the older adult; teaching approaches to learning and critical thinking especially in the care of the older adult; Heideggerian hermeneutic phenomenology

Dr. Parsons is currently accepting PhD students for Fall 2017. Click here to see her current program of research.


 Pike, April., BN, MN, PhD Memorial Dr. April Pike  April Pike19

Winner of the President's Award for Exceptional Community Service, 2016

Tel: 709-864-7453aprilpike@mun.ca

Room: H2951

Expertise: Genetics; sociocultural theories of risk; community health; cardiovascular disease; organ procurement; qualitative research methods; grounded theory; phenomenology

Click here to find out more about Dr. Pike's current program of research.


Porr. Caroline., BScN McMaster, MN Calgary, PhD Alberta

Recipient of the 2017 President’s Award for Distinguished TeachingCaroline P

cporr@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-8310
Room: H3459

Expertise: Primary health care philosophy and principles; relational practice; interpersonal competencies; pedagogy; health professional education innovation; qualitative inquiry; inductive theory generation; systematic reviews

Click here to find out more about Dr. Porr's current program of research.


Assistant Professors


Bruneau, Jill, BN, MHSc (University of Toronto), PhD(c) Memorial Jill Bruneau

jill.bruneau@mun.ca

Tel: 864-8425

Expertise and areas of interest: Advanced Practice Nursing/Nurse Practitioner; Cardiovascular Health, Health Promotion; Risk Factor Management, special interest in hypertension management; motivational interviewing; and mixed methods research.


 

Bursey, Mary., BN, Memorial, M.Sc.(N). TorontoMary Bursey

mbursey@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-4552
Room: H3477

Expertise: Cardiovascular nursing; gerontology; patient safety

 


Crossman, Renee, BN, MN, MemorialPhD(c), University of Alberta Renee C 2015

crossman@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-4459
Room: H3473


Dobbin-Williams, Karen., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Calgray

Karen DobbinW

kdobbinw@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-4488
Room: H3461

Expertise:Food allergies and anaphylaxis; Gadamerian philosophical hermeneutics; chronic illness and diabetes; maternal theory; teenagers; surgical site infection risk factors in vascular; colorectal and cardiac bypass graft surgery; relational ethics


 

Jarvis, Kimberly 

Kimberly Jarvis

kimberly.jarvis@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-2746


Lukewich, Julia., BNSc., RN, PhD Queen's Julia Lukewich

jlukewich@mun.ca

Tel:  709-864-8211
Room: H2953

Expertise: Primary care, nursing roles, organizational attributes, chronic disease management, type 2 diabetes, health outcomes, quantitative research methods, systematic reviews, secondary data analysis

Click here to find out more about Dr. Lukewich's current program of research.


Maddigan, Joy., BN, MN Memorial, PhD CalgaryJoy Maddigan

jmaddigan@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3606
Room: ED-5004E

Expertise: Psychiatric mental health nursing; early psychosis intervention; families and health; advancing nursing practice; mixed methods research

Click here to find out more about her current program of research.


Snow, Nicole., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Alberta, RN, CPMHN(C)Nicole Snow

nicole.snow@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3607
Room: ED-5004D

Expertise: Exploring dimensions of relationships and engagement (primarily in mental health contexts); ethical considerations inherent in professional care; the concept of professionalism and its praxis; interprofessional education and practice.

Dr. Richard Marceau Fogo Island Fellow 2017-18

Member Scholar, International Institute for Qualitative Methodology, University of Alberta

Click here to find out more about Dr. Snow's current program of research.

 


Kathleen Stevens

Stevens, Kathleen.,  BN, MN, PhD(c) Memorial

kathleen.stevens@mun.ca

Tel: 864-7100

Expertise: Foot health; populations at risk for foot health problems such as individuals with diabetes, peripheral vascular disease, arthritis, and the elderly; self-management; and mixed methods research

 


 On Leave

Creina Twomey

Twomey, C., BN, MN Memorial, PhD  

ctwomey@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-6128
Room: H3457

Expertise: Psychosocial adaptation to chronic illness; quality of life; psychometrics; clinical epidemiology and community health; community health needs and resources; men in nursing


 

Dawe, Doreen., BN, M.Ed. Memorial, MSc.N., Toronto

 


Lecturers 


Belbin, Dee Anne

g32dab@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8932
Room: H3476


Chardran, Ruth              Ruth Chardran

rchandran@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8855
Room: H3474

 

 


Collett, Krista

Krsta Ckcollett@mun.ca

Room: H2942

Tel: 709-864-2596


 Crane, Ashley    

Ashley Crane

achealey@mun.ca 

 Tel: 709-864-3458
Room: H3476


 

Dale, SheilaghSheilagh Dale

sheilagh.dale@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8823
Room: H2950


Fagan, Renee

Renee F 2015

renee.fagan@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2762
Room: H3474

 


Kelly, PaulaPaula Kelly

paulak@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-4763
Room: H3472

 


Kille-Marino, J
Kille-Marino, Joyce

jkmarino@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2716
Room: H3478

 


 

Krista KingKing, Krista

krista.king@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-4618
Room: H3478

 


 

Lewis-Power, NicoleNicole Lewis-Power

nicolelewis@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2958
Room: H2946

 


 

Noseworthy, Ann

danoseworthy@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8787
Room: H3464


Vivian-Book, Lynn

Lynn VB

lvivianbook@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-4069

Room: H2944

 


 

Per Semester/Per Course Appointment


Cameron, Kalynn

kmcameron@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Carnell, Erin

eglynn@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Crotty, Melissa

melissa.crotty@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Earles, Barbara

baearles@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-8589
Room: H29550


Earle-Crane, Michelle

michelle.earle.crane@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Hardman, Brittany

bhardman@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


 Haynes, Chantille

43cihb@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


MacKenzie, Michelle

u39mms@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Northcott, Crystal

crystal.northcott@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Owens, Ron

rowens@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Piccott, Amanda

apicott@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Snow, Leighann

Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Stevenson, Michelle

u39mms@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Thompson, Kelly

kdt707@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Watkins, Kathy

kwatkins@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Young-Beaulieu, Rhonda

rhonda.young.beaulieu@mun.ca
Tel: 709-864-2104
Room: H2954


Clinical Coordinator


 Watkins, Andrea

andrea.watkins@mun.ca 
Tel: 709-864-8507
Room: H3471 


 Honorary Doctorate Degree


 Matthews, M.K., BN, MN, LLD Memorial

matthews@mun.ca

Contact

Faculty of Nursing

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000