Faculty


Professor Emerita


Lan GienGien, Lan., B.Sc.N. Loretta Heights College, M.Ed.N. Columbia, PhD London

Tel:  739-5799 (R)

lgien@mun.ca

Expertise: Women’s health; primary health care; population health; intercultural health research; program evaluation

 


LeFort Sandra., BA Trent, MN Memorial, PhD McGillSandra LeFort

slefort@mun.ca

Expertise: Self-care/self-management of chronic pain; pain assessment and management; knowledge exchange and translation; advanced practice nursing roles; ethical practice issues; telehomecare; evaluation

 


Solberg, Shirley., BN, MN Memorial, PhD University of Alberta

Dr. Shirley Solberg

ssolberg@mun.ca

Expertise: Women’s health; occupational health; chronic pain conditions associated with work; social inequality and social determinants of health; qualitative research methodologies; and ethics of publication

 


Professors


Gaudine, Alice., B.Sc. (Hons) Mount Allison, M.Sc. (A) McGill, PhD Concordia

Dr. Gaudine

agaudine@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-6972
Room: H2926

Expertise: Nursing leadership; nurse's ethical conflicts; employee absenteeism; nurses' work life


Kearney, Anne., BN Memorial, M.H.Sc. Toronto, PhD MemorAnne Kearneyial

akearney@mun.ca

Tel:(709) 777-6754
Room: H2955

Expertise: Breast screening effectiveness particularly related to mammography screening; primary health care reform; quality of nurses' worklife including performance of non-nursing duties; nursing skill mix; job satisfaction.


MacDonald, Sandra., BN, MN Memorial, PhD WaldenDr. Sandy Mac

Winner of the President's Award for Distinguished Teaching 2011

smacdon@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-8311
Room: H3467

Expertise: Community health needs and resources assessment; program evaluation; critical care nursing; nursing management, leadership qualities and styles


Moralejo, Donna., BA, B.Sc., M.Sc.(A) McGill, PhD CalgaryDonna M

moralejo@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3603
Room: ED-5004C

Expertise: Infection control, surveillance; population/public health; evidence-based practice


 

Small, Sandra., BN Memorial, M.Sc.N. Toronto, PhD Alberta

ssmall@mun.caDr. Sandra Small

Tel: 709-777-6973
Room: H3475

Expertise: Respiratory health, including aspects of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; asthma and youth smoking; parenting children about risk factors.

Find out more about Dr. Small's current program of research.

 


 

Way, Christine., (Retired) BN, BA Memorial, M.Sc(A) McGill, PhD Virginia;

Winner of President's Award for Distinguished Teaching 1999

cway@mun.ca

Room: H2951

Expertise: End-stage renal disease and life on dialysis; impact of healthcare reforms on provider groups; evaluation of programs for women at risk during pregnancy; chronic illnesses


Brennan-Hunter, Andrea., BSc.N. St. Francis Xavier, MN DAndrea Brennan-Hunteralhousie

brennan@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-6679
Room: H3470

Expertise: Pain in children; parental advocacy; intervention strategies for helping children manage procedures; adolescent smoking; student progress in nursing


Dr. Meadus

 

Meadus, Robert., BN, B. Voc.Ed. Memorial, M.Sc.(N). Toronto, PhD, Barry

meadusr@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-6716
Room: H3465

Expertise:Families and mental health; coping with mental health issues; men in nursing; children living with mentally-ill parents; adolescents with mood disorders


 

Murray, Cindy., BN, MN Memorial, PhD AlbertaCindy Murray

cindym@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3608
Room: ED-5004F

Expertise: Community and population health; health promotion and chronic disease prevention; determinants of health; health policy; health inequities; Indigenous peoples and health; healthy child development; women's health; body weight and health; fetal programming of chronic diseases; quantitative, qualitative, and interdisciplinary research

Click here to find out more about her current program of research.   


Parsons, Karen., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Rush

Winner of the President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching 2014Karen Parsons

karenp@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-6528
Room: H2959

Expertise: Healthy aging; memory impairment in the older adult; teaching approaches to learning and critical thinking especially in the care of the older adult; Heideggerian hermeneutic phenomenology

Dr. Parsons is currently accepting PhD students for Fall 2017. Click here to see her current program of research.


 

Porr. Caroline., BScN McMaster, MN Calgary, PhD Alberta

Recipient of the 2017 President’s Award for Distinguished TeachingCaroline P

cporr@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-7103
Room: H3459

Expertise: Primary health care philosophy and principles; relational practice; interpersonal competencies; pedagogy; health professional education innovation; qualitative inquiry; inductive theory generation; systematic reviews

Click here to find out more about Dr. Porr's current program of research.


Assistant Professors


Bruneau, Jill, BN, MHSc (University of Toronto), PhD(c) Memorial Jill Bruneau

jill.bruneau@mun.ca

Tel: 777-7258

Expertise and areas of interest: Advanced Practice Nursing/Nurse Practitioner; Cardiovascular Health, Health Promotion; Risk Factor Management, special interest in hypertension management; motivational interviewing; and mixed methods research.


 

Bursey, Mary., BN, Memorial, M.Sc.(N). TorontoMary Bursey

mbursey@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-8309
Room: H3477

Expertise: Cardiovascular nursing; gerontology; patient safety

 


Karen Dobbin-Williams

Dobbin-Williams, Karen., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Candidate

kdobbinw@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-7493
Room: H3461

Expertise:Food allergies and anaphylaxis; Gadamerian philosophical hermeneutics; chronic illness and diabetes; maternal theory; teenagers; surgical site infection risk factors in vascular; colorectal and cardiac bypass graft surgery; relational ethics


 Jarvis, Kimberly 

Kimberly Jarvis

kimberly.jarvis@mun.ca


Lukewich, Julia., BNSc., RN, PhD Queen's Julia Lukewich

jlukewich@mun.ca

Tel:  709-777-6319
Room: H2953

Expertise: Primary care, nursing roles, organizational attributes, chronic disease management, type 2 diabetes, health outcomes, quantitative research methods, systematic reviews, secondary data analysis

Click here to find out more about Dr. Lukewich's current program of research.


Dr. Joy MaddiganMaddigan, Joy., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Calgary

jmaddigan@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3606
Room: ED-5004E

Expertise: Psychiatric mental health nursing; early psychosis intervention; families and health; advancing nursing practice; mixed methods research

Click here to find out more about her current program of research.


Pike, April., BN, MN, PhD Memorial           Dr. April Pike

aprilpike@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-8921
Room: H2951

Expertise: Genetics; sociocultural theories of risk; community health; cardiovascular disease; organ procurement; qualitative research methods; grounded theory; phenomenology

Click here to find out more about Dr. Pike's current program of research.


Rahaman, Zaida., BSc.N Saskatchewan, MN Calgary, PhD Ottawa

zdrahaman@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-6869

Room: H2930

Expertise: Community health nursing; Indigenous health in rural and remote Northern Canada; Critical discourse analysis; Foucault and power/knowledge; self-reflective practice; global public health and human dignity, epidemiological technologies

 


Snow, Nicole., BN, MN Memorial, PhD Alberta, RN, CPMHN(C)Nicole Snow

nicole.snow@mun.ca

Tel: 709-864-3607
Room: ED-5004D

Expertise: Exploring dimensions of relationships and engagement (primarily in mental health contexts); ethical considerations inherent in professional care; the concept of professionalism and its praxis; interprofessional education and practice.

Dr. Richard Marceau Fogo Island Fellow 2017-18

Member Scholar, International Institute for Qualitative Methodology, University of Alberta

Click here to find out more about Dr. Snow's current program of research.

 


Kathleen Stevens

Stevens, Kathleen.,  BN, MN, PhD(c) Memorial

kathleen.stevens@mun.ca

Tel: 777-8685

Expertise: Foot health; populations at risk for foot health problems such as individuals with diabetes, peripheral vascular disease, arthritis, and the elderly; self-management; and mixed methods research

 


 

Twomey, C., BN, MN Memorial, PhD   Creina Twomey

ctwomey@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-6903
Room: H3457

Expertise: Psychosocial adaptation to chronic illness; quality of life; psychometrics; clinical epidemiology and community health; community health needs and resources; men in nursing


 

On leave


 

Dawe, Doreen., BN, M.Ed. Memorial, MSc.N., Toronto

Mullett, Karen

 


Lecturers 


 

Chardran, Ruth              Ruth Chardran

rchandran@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-6882
Room: H3474

 

 


Collett, Krista

Krsta Ckcollett@mun.ca

Room: H2942

Tel: 709-777-7068


 lCrane, Ashley    

Ashley Crane

achealey@mun.ca   Tel: 709-777-6797
Room: H3476


Renee C 2015

Crossman, Renee, PhD candidate

crossman@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-6756
Room: H2936

 


 

Dale, SheilaghSheilagh Dale

sheilagh.dale@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-6938
Room: H2950


Fagan, Renee

Renee F 2015

renee.fagan@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7335
Room: H3474

 


Kelly, PaulaPaula Kelly

paulak@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7007
Room: H3472

 


Kille-Marino, J
Kille-Marino, Joyce

jkmarino@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7008
Room: H3478

 


 

Krista KingKing, Krista

krista.king@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-6766
Room: H3478

 


 

Lewis-Power, NicoleNicole Lewis-Power

nicolelewis@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7060
Room: H2946

 


 

Noseworthy, Ann

danoseworthy@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-6546
Room: H3464


Vivian-Book, Lynn

Lynn VB

lvivianbook@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-7128

Room: H2944

 


 

Per Semester/Per Course Appointment


Belbin, Dee Anne

g32dab@mun.ca

Tel: 709-777-7900
Room: H3476


Careen, Vivian

Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Colbourne, Neil

neil.colbourne@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Crotty, Melissa

melissa.crotty@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Dunn, Casey

Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Earle-Crane, Michelle

michelle.earle.crane@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


 Gilbert, Tasha

tasha.gilbert@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Haynes, Chantille

43cihb@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Hayes, Sasha

c22smh@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954

MacKenzie, Michelle

u39mms@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Marshall, Donna

donna.marshall@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Northcott, Crystal

crystal.northcott@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Owens, Ron

rowens@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Stevenson, Michelle

u39mms@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Young-Beaulieu, Rhonda

rhonda.young.beaulieu@mun.ca
Tel: 709-777-7098
Room: H2954


Clinical Coordinator


 

Watkins, Andrea

andrea.watkins@mun.ca 
Tel: 709-777-6530
Room: H3471

 


 Honorary Doctorate Degree


 

Matthews, M.K., BN, MN, LLD Memorial

matthews@mun.ca

Contact

School of Nursing

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000