• March 9, 1961
    Board of Regents approves the establishment of the Institute of Social and Economic Research.
  • October 7, 1961
    Installation of Roy Thomson as Second Chancellor of MUN.
  • October 9, 1961
    Official Opening of the new St. John's Campus of Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • January 9, 1964
    Board of Regents approves the construction of two new academic buildings on the Elizabeth Avenue campus in St. John's: an Arts and Education building and a science building (to be constructed at the rear of the present Science Building).
  • January 14, 1964
    Official Opening of the College of Fisheries, Navigation, Marine Engineering and Electronics.
  • September 21, 1964
    Official unveiling by her Royal Highness the Princess Royal of the War Memorial Plaque, a gift to the university by the Newfoundland Command of the Royal Canadian Legion. The plaque is located in the Founders' Gallery in the lobby of the Arts and Administration Building.
  • September 20, 1965
    Premier Smallwood announces free tuition for all first-year students who are residents of the province.
  • November 21, 1967
    Lord Bowden of Chesterfield gave the F.W. Angel Lecture entitled "The Problem of the University in the Modern Society."
  • February 24, 1968
    Installation of Lord Taylor as President and Vice-Chancellor of Memorial University, and M.O. Morgan as Vice-President and Pro-Chancellor of the University.
  • March 1, 1968
    Professor Northrop Frye gave the E.J. Pratt Lecture entitled "Silence of the Sea" at the Little Theatre, Memorial University.
  • May 25, 1968
    Official opening of the Thomson Student Centre by the Right Honourable Lord Thomson


History of Memorial University

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000