Chairs to build teaching and learning capacity

May 20th, 2015

Jennifer Batten

Chairs to build teaching and learning capacity

Thirteen educators at Memorial University have been appointed as Chairs in Teaching and Learning. The chairs will support teaching and learning across the university, collaborating with colleagues to advance the objectives of the Teaching and Learning Framework, promoting the scholarship of teaching and learning and developing strategies to address common challenges. 

The 13 chairs are Dr. Marie Croll, Grenfell Campus; Dr. Adam Dubrowski, Faculty of Medicine; Dr. Danny Dyer, Faculty of Science; Dr. Karen Goodnough, Faculty of Education; Janet Goosney, Memorial University Libraries; Dr. John Hawboldt, School of Pharmacy; Dr. Max Liboiron, Faculty of Arts; Dr. TA Loeffler, School of Human Kinetics and Recreation; Dr. Delores Mullings, School of Social Work; Dr. Caroline Porr, School of Nursing; Dr. Janna Rosales, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science; Kevin Strowbridge, Marine Institute; and Lyle Wetsch, Faculty of Business Administration. 

“I congratulate these outstanding individuals who have the opportunity to both individually and collectively enhance the student learning experience and build upon teaching capacity and competence,” said Dr. Noreen Golfman, provost and vice-president (academic). “I am confident that with the support of the Memorial community, the chairs will develop and implement innovative initiatives and encourage excellence in teaching and learning.”

Allocations from the Teaching and Learning Framework (TLF) Fund supported the establishment of the cross-campus Chairs in Teaching and Learning program. The purpose of the fund is to support university activities which foster the development of the desired qualities in Memorial’s graduates; contribute to the enhancement of the teaching and learning community; and/or address one or more of the specific recommendations of the Teaching and Learning Framework. 

The Chairs in Teaching and Learning program embodies the values and principles of the Teaching and Learning Framework and was created in response to its two primary recommendations: (1) that Memorial University identify structures responsible for realizing the Teaching and Learning Framework and (2) that strategies be developed and implemented to address areas requiring immediate attention. 

The term of the chair appointments will be two years, from July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017, renewable once for up to two years.

For more information on the Chairs in Teaching and Learning program, please visit blog.delts. chairs-in-teaching-and-learning.



Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000