• June 3, 1950
    First degree-granting Convocation held by Memorial University. Undergraduate degrees were awarded to Denise Josette Bonnave, John Roland Courage, Bernard Weston March, Frederick James Newhook, and Thomas John Strapp.
  • October 8, 1952
    Installation of Lord Rothermere as First Chancellor of Memorial University.
  • October 8, 1952
    Installation of Raymond Gushue as Second President of Memorial University.
  • March 26, 1959
    Students march to the Colonial Building, the seat of the Newfoundland Legislature, in support of the provincial government, which was objecting to the federal government's refusal to give the province more funding under Term 29 of Newfoundland's Terms of Union with Canada in 1949.


History of Memorial University

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000