CARE Advisory Board

Although the topics chosen for funding will be determined by the interests and willingness of the faculty members to engage in a specific research topic, the members of CARE will be informed by the annual meetings of an Advisory Board. This Advisory Board will meet with the members of CARE once a year to suggest applied research topics that might be of interest to their organizations, in particular and those which might be important to the province as a whole.

The Advisory Board will be composed of representatives from the federal government (e.g., Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency), the provincial government, the municipal government, the energy industry (e.g., Husky Energy), businesses, labour, social and volunteer groups, and academic groups (e.g., Office of Collaborations & Partnerships, Dean of Arts). Other stakeholders may be added as needed and appropriate.

The CARE Advisory Board:

Margaret Allan, Manager, Regulatory Affairs and Administration, Husky Energy

Chief Miesel Joe, Miawpukek First Nation

Michael Clair, Harris Centre, Memorial University

Zita Cobb, Shorefast Foundation

Frank Coleman, CEO, Coleman Management Services Limited

Susan Drodge, Policy, Advocacy and Coordination, ACOA

Patricia Hearn, Atlantic Regional Director at Industry Canada

Alton Hollett, Past Assistant Deputy Minister, Economics and Statistics Branch, Department of Finance, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador

Raymond Gosine, Office of the Associate Vice President (Research)

Dorothy Keating, FCPA, FCA, Noseworthy Chapman

Jim Keating, Vice President, Oil and Gas: NALCOR

Mark Kielley, Office of Research Grant and Contract Services, Memorial University

Lana Payne, Atlantic Director, Unifor

Craig Martin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Department of Finance, Governement of NL

Ken Martin, Vice President, ACOA

Paul Mills, Past Vice President, ACOA

Dean of HSS, Memorial University

Craig Pollett, Executive Director, Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador

Mary Shortall,
President, NL Federation of Labour

Heather Tizzard, Assistant Deputy Minister Municipal Support Department of Municipal Affairs