Graduate awards

The Graduate Award Ceremony honours the Fellows of the School of Graduate Studies and other award and external fellowship recipients.

Award_winners_2016 Award Winners 2018
Award Winners 2017 Award_winners_2016
Award Winners 2015 Award Winners 2014
Award Winners 2013 Award Winners 2012
Award Winners 2011 Award Winners 2010
Award Winners 2009 Award Winners 2008
Award Winners 2007 Award Winners 2006
Award Winners 2005 Award Winners 2004
Award Winners 2003 Award Winners 2002
Award Winners 2001 Award Winners 2000
Award Winners 1999 Award Winners 1998

Awards that may be presented include*:

  • F.A. Aldrich Graduate Award
  • Atlantic Accord Career Development Awards (2003)
  • The Barrowman Biochemistry Graduate Travel Awards
  • The Barrowman Community Health Graduate Travel Awards
  • The Bowring/Harlow Scholarship
  • The David Buchan Graduate Research Award in Folklore
  • Buchans Scholarship Fund of ASARCO
  • The Maurice J. Burke Memorial Scholarship
  • The Greg Campbell Memorial Business Scholarship
  • Canadian College of Teachers Scholarship
  • Canadian Federation of University Women St. John's 60th Anniversary Scholarship
  • Canadian Institute of Health Research (CIHR) Doctoral Research Award
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research Studentships
  • Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)/MUN Scholarships (2004)
  • The Rob Crosbie Scholarship for International Study
  • The Sally Davis Scholarship
  • The Ernst R. Deutsch Memorial Scholarships in Geophysics
  • Eaton Foundation Scholarship
  • The Echos Du Monde Classique/Classical Views Internship Fund
  • Faculty of Business Administration Associate's Scholarship Fund
  • The J.Bruce and Helen H. French Graduate Scholarship in Physics
  • The Fry Family Foundation Graduate Leadership Scholarship
  • The P.J. Gardiner Award for Small Business and Entrepreneurship
  • Peter Gardiner Award for International Study
  • Geological Association of Canada Graduate Scholarship for Studies in Environmental Science
  • The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists Past Presidents' Geoscience Scholarship
  • The Mary A. Griffiths Memorial Bursary Fund for Folklore Field Research
  • Guigné International Limited Graduate Research Award in Folklore and Technology (2000)
  • The Wood Gundy Scholarship for Graduate Business Students
  • The Michael Harrington Research Prize in Newfoundland History
  • The Dr. Austin J. Harte Memorial Graduate Scholarship
  • A.G. Hatcher Memorial Scholarship
  • The Rolf G. Hattenhauer Scholarship Fund
  • Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada (Focus on Stroke) Doctoral Research Award
  • The Jim Hood Memorial Scholarship
  • Institute of Social and Economic Research (ISER) Fellowship
  • The Dr. Ethel M. Janes Memorial Scholarship in Eduation (Graduate)
  • The LGL Limited Scholarship in Marine Science
  • The Labour/LeTravail Scholarship
  • The Margaret D. McLean Scholarship
  • The Maritime Awards Society of Canada (MASC) Maritime Studies Scholarship
  • Maritime History Internship
  • Medical Research Council of Canada Studentship
  • The W. F. Morneau Scholarship
  • The National Scholarship in Ocean Studies at Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • The Neil Murray Graduate Research Award in Folklore
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Centre for Applied Health Research (NLCAHR) Master/Doctoral Fellowship
  • The NOPAH Consulting Limited Bursaries in Earth Science
  • Nova Scotia Health Research Foundation (NSHRF) Student Research Award
  • The Dennis R. Prince Memorial Scholarship
  • The Senator Gerald R. Ottenheimer Language Scholarship
  • Provincial Government Special Scholarships for Students to Pursue
  • The Gar Pynn Scholarship in Business
  • The Very Reverend Edward and Marjorie Rusted Harlow Travel Award
  • The Sceptre Investment Counsel Limited Bursary
  • School of Graduate Studies F.A. Aldrich Fellowships
  • School of Pharmacy Millennium Graduate Fellowship
  • The Schulich Scholarship for Entrepreneurship
  • The Scotiabank Bursaries for International Study (Graduate)
  • The Dr. Jorge Segovia Scholarship in Health Services Research
  • The Faculty of Business Administration Jacinta Sheppard Fellowship
  • Dr. Alfred K. Snelgrove Graduate Scholarship in Earth Sciences
  • Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) and Canada Graduate Scholarships Doctoral Fellowships
  • Special Scholarships for Students to Pursue Graduate Studies Related to Resource Development
  • St. John's Home Care Scholarship for Excellence in Community Health
  • The Dr. Anna C. Templeton Memorial Graduate Scholarship
  • The J. Beryl Truscott Graduate Scholarship
  • The Leslie Tuck-Avian Ecology Award
  • The George Weston Graduate Scholarship
  • Women's Association of Memorial University of Newfoundland Graduate Student Scholarship
  • Women's Association of the Mining Industry of Canada Scholarship
  • The Hira & Kamal Ahuja International Graduate Fellowship
  • The Department of Archaeology Scholarship
  • The Big Ben's Graduate Scholarship in Archaeology
  • The Dean M. Ian Bowmer Graduate Travel Award in Medicine
  • The Canadian Federation of University Women (CFUW) Edith Creighton Scholarship
  • Canadian Federation of University Women (CFUW) St. John's Scholarship for Women's Studies
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) – Frederick Banting and Charles Best Canada Graduate Scholarships – Master’s Award
  • Ethnomusicology Award for Field Research
  • The Dr. Alex Faseruk MBA Scholarship for Excellence in Service
  • The Fry Family Foundation Graduate Leadership Award
  • The Fry Family Foundation MBA Leadership Scholarship
  • The Fry Family Foundation Doctoral Scholarship in Business Studies
  • Professor Elmer Harp Jr. Legacy Collection’s Award
  • The Imperial Tobacco Canada Limited Graduate Scholarship in Business Studies
  • Law Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador Legal Research Awards for Students of Memorial University
  • The Edgar Raymond Martin Memorial Scholarship in Music
  • The James and Muriel Martin Award in Music
  • Stuart O. Pierson Prize
  • Royal Bank Fellowship in Marine Studies
  • Research and Development Corporation (RDC) Ocean Industries Student Research Awards
  • The Schulich Scholarship for Entrepreneurship
  • The Dr. Robert W. Sexty Scholarship for Social Responsibility
  • SSHRC Distinction Award
  • The St. John’s Maple Leafs Legacy Scholarship
  • The Dr. Wilfred Templeman Memorial Scholarship
  • Trudeau Foundation Doctoral Scholarship
  • Master of Women’s Studies Graduate Travel Award
  • Dr. Lynda Younghusband Counselling Award
  • Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Postgraduate Scholarship/Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarships - Master’s/Doctoral Scholarship/Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship/Julie Payette – NSERC Research Scholarship/Industrial Postgraduate Scholarship

*A date in brackets following the award indicates the final year that the award
was offered

Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) – Frederick Banting and Charles Best

Canada Graduate Scholarships – Master’s Award