News Release

REF NO.: 29

SUBJECT: Memorial University to hold fall convocation ceremonies in St. John's

DATE: October 18, 2016

Some 900 degrees will be awarded to graduating Memorial University students during three sessions of fall convocation at the St. John’s Arts and Culture Centre on Oct. 20.

The first session of fall convocation took place at the Corner Brook Arts and Culture Centre on Oct. 6.

Along with the newest cohort of Memorial University graduates crossing the stage, the university will present two remarkable individuals with degrees honoris causa during the fall ceremonies.

During the 10 a.m. session, Memorial will confer William (Bill) Marshall, provincial politician and judge, with an honorary doctor of laws degree. During the 3 p.m. session, Memorial will confer member of Parliament and Senator Patricia (Pat) Carney an honorary doctor of laws degree.

Honorary degree recipients are chosen from nominations submitted by the public to the Senate, the university’s academic governing body, after a careful examination of the grounds for their nomination. The honorary doctorate degree is designed to recognize extraordinary contribution to society or the university or exceptional intellectual or artistic achievement.

In addition, distinguished retired faculty members who were recently accorded the title professor emeritus/emerita by the university’s Senate will be recognized on Oct. 20.

Dr. Ken Barter, School of Social Work, and Drs. Shakti Chandra and Leslie Rourke, Faculty of Medicine, will be honoured at the 10 a.m. session. Dr. Alex Faseruk, Faculty of Business Administration, and Dr. Edgar Goodaire, Mathematics and Statistics, Faculty of Science, will be recognized at the 3 p.m. session. Dr. Alice Collins, Faculty of Education, and Dr. Beverley Diamond, School of Music, will be recognized at the 7:30 p.m. session.

The distinction professor emeritus/emerita is open only to retired members of the faculty. To be eligible, a person must have served at least 10 years as a regular full-time faculty member at Memorial and must have held the rank of professor upon retirement. The prime criteria for nomination are sustained, outstanding scholarly work and/or service to the university.

Dr. Gary Kachanoski, president and vice-chancellor, will address all three sessions of convocation in St. John’s.

For further information about convocation and those receiving special honours, please visit here. The broadcast will be available for viewing during each convocation session and archived on Memorial’s convocation website for future viewing.

- 30 -