News Release

REF NO.: 140

SUBJECT: Canadian Academy of Engineering honours Memorial University alumni, faculty and staff

DATE: June 26, 2014

The Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) will induct a number of Memorial University alumni, faculty and staff into its ranks at its 2014 annual general meeting and symposium in St. John’s June 26.
Of the 49 fellows and two honorary fellows to be inducted into the CAE, five have strong ties to Memorial University. Dr. Ray Gosine, associate vice-president (research); Charles Randell, president and chief executive officer, C-Core; Earl Ludlow, president and chief executive officer, Newfoundland Power; Gilbert Bennett, vice-president, Lower Churchill Project, Nalcor Energy; and Ross Peters, former dean of engineering, Memorial University, will be honoured.
“These individuals not only have close ties to Memorial University, but they are also inextricably linked to their communities through their professions,” said Dr. Richard Marceau, vice-president (research), Memorial University, and president, CAE. “During their career, they have consistently demonstrated high calibre work and exemplary service, made innovative leaps in the areas of education, energy, marine and the environment, and continue to provide invaluable leadership to the wider community.”
The CAE is the national institution through which Canada’s most distinguished and experienced engineers provide strategic advice on matters of critical importance to Canada. The CAE is an independent, self-governing and non-profit organization established in 1987. Members of the CAE are nominated and elected by their peers to honorary fellowships, in view of their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession.
Biographies of the inductees follow below:
Dr. Ray Gosine, associate vice-president (research) and former dean at Memorial University, is an innovator, educator and academic leader with a longstanding commitment to university-industry collaboration and to the transfer and commercialization of university research to benefit Canada. He has been successful in building research partnerships and generating millions of dollars in investments to Memorial University. The province has profited from his student mentorship as a research chair and his encouragement for his students to identify and address real industrial challenges leading to the creation of their own technology businesses, now employing almost 200 people. His work is highly regarded with over 100 peer-reviewed publications in leading international journals and conferences.
Charles Randell started his career at the Centre for Cold Ocean Resources Engineering (C-Core) as a technician blowing up icebergs and, through education and dedication, has worked his way up to his current role as president and CEO. He has a substantial record of success in initiating, negotiating and stewarding multimillion-dollar, multinational collaborations for industry and government, comprising dozens of international partners with values often in the tens of millions. Mr. Randell serves on the board of directors for Ocean Networks Canada and the Saskatchewan Research Council, as well as numerous national and provincial advisory councils. In 2012 Mr. Randell was named one of Atlantic Canada’s Top 50 CEOs.
Earl Ludlow, originally from Joe Batt’s Arm, Fogo Island, N.L., is the president and chief executive officer of Newfoundland Power. He is highly regarded and well-known in the Canadian utility industry for his operational and engineering knowledge and expertise. He is strongly committed to providing customer service excellence in a region that experiences some of the most severe weather conditions in North
America. He has received many honours for both his service to Canada and the province including the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal and named five times by Atlantic Business magazine as one of Atlantic Canada’s Top 50 CEOs, including induction into their Hall of Fame in 2013.
Gilbert Bennett is vice-president of the Lower Churchill Project at Nalcor Energy where he leads the development of the $6.2-billion hydroelectric project, including the advancement of project engineering and market development, environmental assessment and other regulatory activities, and Aboriginal consultation. This project marks an important step towards providing a clean, renewable source of electricity to meet the province’s growing energy demands and to practically eliminate its thermal electricity generation. Mr. Bennett is a member of the Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Newfoundland and Labrador and serves on the Canadian Hydropower Association’s board of directors, Memorial University’s Board of Regents and the College of the North Atlantic’s board of governors.
Ross Peters has made outstanding contributions to the engineering profession, particularly in Newfoundland and Labrador. He served as the dean of engineering at Memorial University for two terms (1982-93) and led its engineering programs to be fully accredited and highly regarded across Canada and internationally. He served as the director of the Canadian Council of Professional Engineers (1983–84) and chair of the National Committee of Deans of Engineering and Applied Science (1990–91). He also served with distinction as the president of the Association of Professional Engineers of Newfoundland (1982-83). Dr. Peters has served the engineering profession with outstanding contributions and achievements in engineering education and research.

- 30 -