News Release

REF NO.: 214

SUBJECT: Award of Recognition for Dr. Max House

DATE: June 4, 2010

One of the most eminent members of the Memorial University community, Dr. Max House, received the Award of Recognition from the Canadian Association for University Continuing Education (CAUCE) on June 3.
            This award was established in 1987 to recognize contributions to adult and continuing education in Canada. It is not given out lightly and was last awarded to G. Raymond Chang in 2004.
            Dr. House was nominated by Ann Marie Vaughan, director of Distance Education and Learning Technologies (DELT). She attended the ceremony in Fredericton, N.B., with Dr. House and played a short video compiled by DELT with tributes to Dr. House.
            For 40 years Dr. House has practiced neurology in St. John’s. In addition to his clinical appointments he has held a variety of academic and professional positions at Memorial including associate dean of Continuing Medical Education and Clinical Affairs and director of telemedicine. He was actively involved in establishing the medical school at Memorial, and played a significant role in the development of information technology in Newfoundland and Labrador and in providing health and education services to isolated communities in Canada and abroad.
            In 1976 he founded the Telemedicine Centre, which would later be named TETRA (Telemedicine and Educational Technology Resource Agency) which received over $10 million in grants over the years of its operations. This province-wide audio teleconference network contributed to many facets of health care and distance education.
            Dr. House is regarded as a world leader in the areas of telemedicine and telecommunications. He has conducted many research projects and directed many international telemedicine and distance education initiatives which led him to be sought out as a keynote speaker for conferences throughout the world.
            Dr. House served as the 10th Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador from 1997 to 2002. In 1999, he was awarded an honorary doctor of letters from Memorial. In 2003 he received the distinction professor emeritus from Memorial. First appointed as a member of the Order of Canada in 1989, he was promoted to an officer of the Order of Canada in June 2005.

- 30 -