Faculty and Postdoctoral Fellows


Faculty members are full-time members of the department who have considerable research expertise in their subject field. They supervise our graduate students, are members of professional organizations and university committees, participate in public events and are committed to the overall strength of the Department of Linguistics at Memorial University.

Dr. Phil Branigan Dr. Phil Branigan

Associate Professor

Dr. Julie Brittain Dr. Julie Brittain


Dr. Paul DeDecker Dr. Paul DeDecker

Associate Professor

Dr. Carrie Dyck Dr. Carrie Dyck

Associate Professor, Head (July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2021)

Dr. Sara Mackenzie Dr. Sara Mackenzie

Associate Professor, Undergraduate Liaison

Dr. Yvan Rose Dr. Yvan Rose 

Professor, Graduate Officer

Dr. Maureen Scheidnes Dr. Maureen Scheidnes      

Assistant Professor

Dr. Nicholas Welch

Assistant Professor, Canada Research Chair

Dr. Douglas Wharram 
Dr. Douglas Wharram

Assistant Professor

Honorary Research Professor

Dr. Gerard Van Herk

Associate Professor

Per Course Instructors 

Saleem Abdel Hady

Gladstone Deklu

Sarah Kristian Perry

Professors Emeriti

Dr. Vit Bubenik

University Research Professor

Dr. Sandra Clarke 

University Research Professor

Dr. John Hewson 

Henrietta Harvey Professor

Dr. Marguerite MacKenzie

Professor Emerita

Dr. Derek Nurse 

Henrietta Harvey Professor

In memoriam: Dr. Harold Paddock


Department of Linguistics

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000