Faculty and Postdoctoral Fellows


Faculty members are full-time members of the department who have considerable research expertise in their subject field. They supervise our graduate students, are members of professional organizations and university committees, participate in public events and are committed to the overall strength of the Department of Linguistics at Memorial University.

Dr. Phil Branigan  Dr. Phil Branigan

Associate Professor

Dr. Julie Brittain Dr. Julie Brittain


Dr. Paul DeDecker  Dr. Paul DeDecker

Associate Professor

  • Office: SN3043
  • Telephone: (709) 864-8132
  • Email: pauldd@mun.ca 

Dr. Carrie Dyck  Dr. Carrie Dyck

Associate Professor, Head (July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2022)

Dr. Sara Mackenzie  Dr. Sara Mackenzie

Associate Professor, Undergraduate Liaison

Dr. Yvan Rose  Dr. Yvan Rose 

Professor, Graduate Officer

Dr. Maureen Scheidnes  Dr. Maureen Scheidnes      

Assistant Professor

Dr. Nicholas Welch

Assistant Professor, Canada Research Chair

  • Office: SN3051
  • Telephone: (709) 864-8269
  • Email: nwelch@mun.ca 

Dr. Douglas Wharram 
Dr. Douglas Wharram

Assistant Professor

Adjunct Professors

Dr. Mark Scott

Email: h37mas@mun.ca

Per Course Instructors 

Gladstone Deklu

Dr. Mark Scott

Laura Howell

Anaer Nulahan

Professors Emeriti and Retirees

Dr. Vit Bubenik

University Research Professor

Dr. Sandra Clarke 

University Research Professor

Dr. John Hewson 

Henrietta Harvey Professor

Dr. Marguerite MacKenzie

Professor Emerita

  • Office: SN3050G
  • Telephone: (709) 864-8134 (secretary)
  • Email: mmackenz@mun.ca

Dr. Derek Nurse 

Henrietta Harvey Professor

Dr. Gerard Van Herk
  • Retired (2019); Honorary Research Professor (2019-21)
  • Canada Research Chair in Regional Language and Oral Text (2006-2016)
  • Email: gvanherk@mun.ca

In memoriam: Dr. Harold Paddock