External Research Awards

Memorial University is home to many outstanding researchers. The work of these individuals (often alongside talented colleagues) has a tremendous impact on our communities and our understanding of the world. It is always a thrill when a dedicated researcher is recognized for their contributions.

On this page we will continue to profile those who have been recently recognized by external agencies. We extend our congratulations to these individuals who have received prestigious external awards for outstanding research.

Recent Award Recipients

Amanda Bittner 2021 Max Liboiron 2021
Royal Society of Canada College
Amanda Bittner
Department of Political Science

Royal Society of Canada College
Max Liboiron
Department of Geography
Sheila Garland 2021   Octavia Dobre 2021
Emerging Scholar Award
Canadian Cancer Society
Sheila Garland
Department of Psychology/cross-appointed to the
Faculty of Medicine
Canadian Academy of Engineering
Octavia Dobre
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
 Faisal Khan 2021    Sonja Boon 2020
Canadian Academy of Engineering
Faisal Khan
Department of Process Engineering
  Ursula Franklin Award in Gender Studies
Royal Society of Canada
Sonja Boon
Department of Gender Studies

Have you or someone you know been recently recognized for outstanding research?Please be sure to let us know by contacting Ellen Steinhauer at ellens@mun.ca or Tina Winsor at tinaw@mun.ca.