Royal Society of Canada's College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists is Canada’s first national system of multidisciplinary recognition for the emerging generation of Canadian intellectual leadership. The mandate of the College is to gather these individuals "at a highly productive stage of their careers into a single collegium where new advances in understanding will emerge from the interaction of diverse intellectual, cultural and social perspectives.”  

Below is a listing of those faculty at Memorial who have been invited to membership in the College:

Current College Members:

2023 Carissa Brown Department of Geography
2023 Christine Carter School of Music
2023 Sulaimon Giwa School of Social Work
2023 Mark Stoddart Department of Sociology
2022 Sonja Boon Department of Gender Studies
2022 Julia Christensen Department of Geography
2022 Sheila Garland Department of Psychology and Faculty of Medicine 
2022 Baiyu (Helen) Zhang Department of Civil Engineering
2021 Amanda Bittner Department of Political Science
2021 Max Liboiron Department of Geography
2020 Eric Tenkorang Department of Sociology
2020 Josh Lepawsky Department of Geography
2019 Alex Marland Department of Political Science
2019 Rose Ricciardelli School of Maritime Studies
2018 John Sandlos Department of History
2016 Bing Chen Department of Civil Engineering

Previous College Members:

2014 Ashlee Cunsolo School of Arctic & Subarctic Studies
2014 Sean McGrath Department of Philosophy
2014 Andrew Staniland School of Music