Publications & Awards


Faculty Books

Cullum, Linda, Marilyn Porter (ed). (2014). Creating This Place: Women, Family and Class in St. John’s, 1900-1950Montreal: McGill-Queen’s Press.

Ricciardelli, R. (2014). Surviving Incarceration: Inside Canadian Prisons. Wilfred Laurier Univ. Press.

Natcher, D. C., Felt, L., Procter, A. H. (2012). Settlement, Subsistence, and Change Among the Labrador Inuit: The Nunatsiavummiut Experience. Univ. of Manitoba Press.

Stanbridge, K., & Ramos, H. (2012). Seeing Politics Differently: A Brief Introduction to Political Sociology. Don Mills: Oxford University Press.

Stoddart, Mark C.J. (2012). Making Meaning out of Mountains: The Political Ecology of Skiing. UBC Press.

Oleinik, A. (2011). Market as a weapon: The socio-economic machinery of dominance in Russia. Transaction Publishers.

Kenney, J. S. (2009). Canadian Victims of Crime: Critical Insights. Canadian Scholars’ Press.

Baldacchino, G., Felt, L., & Greenwood, R. M. (2009). Remote control: governance lessons for and from small, insular, and remote regions (Vol. 28). ISER Books.

Haggan, N., Neis, B., & Baird, I. G. (Eds.). (2007). Fishers' knowledge in fisheries science and managementVenice: UNESCO Publishing.

Cullum, L., McGrath, C., & Porter, M (Eds). (2006). Weather’s Edge: A Compendium of Women’s Lives in Newfoundland and Labrador.

Neis, Barb. (2005). Changing tides: gender, fisheries and globalization. Fernwood.

Power, N. G. (2005). What do they call a fisherman?: men, gender, and restructuring in the Newfoundland fishery (No. 69). St. John's, Nfld.: ISER.

Cullum, Linda. (2003). Narratives at Work: Women, Men, Unionization and the Fashioning of Identities. St. John's: ISER

Adler, Judith. (1979). Artists in Offices: An Ethnography of an Academic Art Scene. New Brunswick, N.J.: Transaction Books.

Major Faculty Awards

2015: Dr. Larry Felt, Marilyn Harvey Award to Recognize the Importance of Research Ethics

2014: Dr. Donald Willmott, YMCA Peace Medallion

2012: Dr. Barb Neis, Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada

2009: Dr. Stephen Riggins, Award for Outstanding Service to the Canadian Sociological Association

2008: Dr. Victor Zaslavsky, Hannah Arendt Award for Political Thought from the Heinrich Boell Foundation and the City of Bremen

2005: Dr. Peter Sinclair, Award for Outstanding Contribution to Canadian Sociology from the Canadian Sociological Association

2001: Dr. Douglas House, Order of Canada