News Release

REF NO.: 97

SUBJECT: Faculty and staff recognized for outstanding achievement at Memorial

DATE: December 11, 2014

President Gary Kachanoski has announced Memorial University’s outstanding educators, researchers and staff members for 2014.

The president’s awards recognize excellence in teaching, research, service and community service. The awards are announced annually and will be formally presented at a ceremony today, Dec. 11.

“I extend a special congratulations to our award recipients,” said Dr. Kachanoski. “While they are called the President’s Awards, they are truly a reflection of the high esteem in which our Memorial University community holds the recipients, because all of them have been nominated for these honours by their peers or their students.”

Dr. Seán Brosnan, Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Science, has been awarded the 2014 John Lewis Paton Distinguished University Professorship, Memorial’s newest and most prestigious award for faculty. Named for the founding president of Memorial University College, the award recognizes those who distinguish themselves across the continuum of teaching and learning, research and public engagement. Dr. Brosnan is an accomplished educator and one of Memorial’s premier scientists and researchers in the Department of Biochemistry.

Dr. Trevor Bell, Department of Geography, Faculty of Arts, and Dr. Christopher Kovacs, Faculty of Medicine, have been named University Research Professors. The title University Research Professor is a designation above the rank of professor and goes to a faculty member who has demonstrated a consistently high level of scholarship and whose research is of a truly international stature.

The President’s Award for Exceptional Community Service has been awarded to Dr. Leonard Lye, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science. This award is presented in recognition of employees (faculty or staff) who have demonstrated outstanding community service.

The President’s Award for Outstanding Research has been awarded to Dr. Andrew Staniland, School of Music. The President's Award for Outstanding Research recognizes young researchers who have made significant contributions to their scholarly disciplines.

Dr. Faisal Khan, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, has been awarded the President’s Award for Outstanding Graduate and Postgraduate Supervision. This award recognizes exemplary efforts to foster success in the research and scholarship of their graduate or postgraduate students and to advance their students’ success in their profession.

The President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching, recognizing teaching excellence in the university community, was presented to Dr. Karen Parsons, School of Nursing, and to Prof. Lyle Wetsch, Faculty of Business Administration.

Other teaching awards – for outstanding teaching − recognize remarkable efforts in the classroom by a faculty members with 5-10 years of service to the university, and lecturers and instructional staff with a minimum of five course sections taught.

The President’s Award for Outstanding Teaching (Faculty) has been awarded to Dr. Geoff Rideout, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science.

The President’s Award for Outstanding Teaching (Lecturers and Instructional Staff) has been awarded to Prof. Terry Hussey, Faculty of Business Administration.

The President’s Awards for Exemplary Service have been awarded to six remarkable Memorial community members. They are Mary Dray, co-ordinator, Office of Student Affairs, Faculty of Medicine; Lisa Fleet, manager, research programs, Professional Development and Conference Services, Faculty of Medicine; Arlene McDonald, enrolment clerk, Office of the Registrar, Marine Institute; Wendy Murphy, officer, Campus Enforcement and Patrol, and Lynette Wells, officer, Campus Enforcement and Patrol (shared); and Darlene Spracklin, senior instructional designer, Distance Education, Learning and Teaching Support and Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science.

The President's Award for Exemplary Service is presented to employees who have demonstrated outstanding service and/or who have made significant contributions to the university community beyond that normally expected for their positions. 

The president’s awards ceremony will take place in the Bruneau Centre for Research and Innovation on the St. John’s campus.


- 30 -